Just Sayin

I'm BAAAAAAACK! Didja miss me?

Greetings and salutations, denizens of planet earth. It is I, your future ruler here again on the blog of the earthwoman, Jen Wylie.

I know, I know, I’m weird. Many of you look forward to my blog heist once a month right here on Jen’s blog, but I’m going to be serious today. There’s something that I want to say to everybody and I figured here would be a great place to say it. Since it concerns our Great Rainbow Queen.

You see, being an author (or a writer, I still haven’t figured out the distinction) is one of the greatest feelings in the world. Now everybody will tell you that the one thing behind being a successful writer is a good critique partner. I agree. Somewhat. The truth of the matter is having the best friend in the world anybody could have. Well…to bad. I already claimed her. You’re gonna have to settle for the second, third, fourth, or so on and so forth best friends. Sorry. You lose.

I wont get into great detail on why Wylie rocks, she just does. I will tell you what makes her the perfect friend for writing though. She is strong where I am weak (trust me. there’s a lot of spots), and I’m the same for her.

I’m usually totally unmotivated-she whips me and makes me write. She was even the person who talked me into submitting to my current publisher and pushed me to query agents.

I have never written a list in my life-she is the most organized person you’ll ever see.

I’m kinda dark and gloomy-SHE IS THE RAINBOW QUEEN

I write for adults and recently tried my hand at YA-she is an accomplished YA novelist and smacked me around for using bad words

When i get in the dumps about agents not responding or saying no-she calls them morons and questions their lineage

I never know anything about writing contests-she emails me and says, “Here, enter this.”

I suck at editing my own stuff-she does it for me

I write something crappy- she says, “Hey, this sucks.”

Its not often you find somebody who will do everything they can to help you, asks nothing in return, and is completely amazing in the areas you lack. I can only tell you one thing, if you find a person like that, do everything you can to help them and thank them. Let them know how special they are and how much their help means to you. Often they go unnoticed and will never say anything to you when they’re feeling a little under-appreciated. Do what you can, when you can, and NEVER forget to say, “Thank you.” It goes a long way.

Now, you see, I’m pretty lucky. Wylie let’s me hijack her blog once a month to totally rant, be me, be funny, or just post nonsense. I love doing that. BUT…I figured this would be one of those times I could use to say thank you to the best friend in the world and who has helped me more than anybody in the world.

Thank you, Jen.

About shaydenfl

Born the son of a fire chief, Sean naturally developed a love of playing with fire. His family and friends quickly found other outlets for his destructive creativity. Writing is his latest endeavor. Always a fan of the macabre, mythical, and magical, Sean found a love of urban fantasy and horror. After writing several novels in this genre, he found, fell in love with, and immersed himself in steampunk. He has always wanted to rewrite history and steampunk gave him that opportunity. Sean currently lives in Florida as a fiber-optic engineer as well as an author. He was blessed with the two most amazing children he could ever hope for, has met the absolute love of his life, who coincidentally is his partner in everything. His hobbies include grand designs on world domination as well as a starring role in his own television sitcom.

2 thoughts on “Just Sayin

  1. Elysabeth says:

    This is where your acknowledgements come into play – you thank all those wonderful people who got you where you are, especially your critique partners or editors. It sounds like a true match – editing wise. As for writer/author – I’m still not sure what the distinction is either – so we are right there with each other. Jen needs to do some prodding of said publisher and get some of her Ever series published since they should have been out many months ago – I’m chomping at the bit to get the rest of the series. Anyway, thanks for a bit more insight into Jen – she is pretty awesome from what I’ve seen – E :)

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of Finally Home, a YA paranormal mystery (coming soon)

    http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com

    http://eeldering.weebly.com

    Ma America, The Travelin’ Maven
    Author of the JGDS, 50-state, mystery, trivia series
    Where will the adventure take you next?

    http://jgdsseries.blogspot.com

    http://jgdsseries.weebly.com

  2. What a wonderful blog post, Sean. You are indeed fortunate to have such a good friend/critique partner/kick-in-the-pants fellow writer. I’m so happy for both of you. And good for you, Sean, for taking the time to publicly thank her.

    Blessings,
    Deb

    Deborah Dee Harper
    Laughing with the Lord
    “But may the righteous be glad and rejoice before God; may they be happy and joyful.” (Psalms 68:3 NIV)
    http://www.deborahdeetales.blogspot.com and http://www.deetrails.blogspot.com
    Don’t miss my eBook series: Laramie on the Lam with Echelon Press
    http://www.laramieonthelam.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

