Jenny Hilborne- author of Hide and Seek- Wacky Interview!

Jenny Hilborne

Today I have the most super awesome Jenny Hilborne on my blog.

Here is an interesting story about Jenny. I met her on twitter a few years ago. I don’t think I’d been on twitter very long. I was very new to publishing world and that came with it. At the time I didn’t even have anything published. She was one of the first authors who followed me back. She also talked to me. I’m not sure if Jenny ever knew how much that meant to me. How excited I got over some friendly tweets. I mean… I called my mom to tell her about this amazing mystery author who actually talked to me.

Needless to say, Jenny is not only an amazing author, but an amazing person too. If you haven’t checked out her books yet, I highly recommend you do!

On to the crazy fun questions!

If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Would you wear a cape?
Villain or hero, I would fly, especially if I lived in California, so I could beat traffic. I would wear a rocking cape, but I draw the line at tights.

Chocolate, Strawberry or Vanilla?
Strawberry if it’s ice-cream. Anything else – chocolate.

The light side or the dark side?
I’d like to say light, but I’m always drawn to the dark.

Do you have deep dark secret? How about a shallow grey one?
Nope. I’m not that intriguing.

What sort of coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?
I’d order Early Grey tea.

Have you ever given someone who asked for decaf, regular coffee just to see what would happen?
No, but I brewed a pot of decaf at work in the regular coffee pot, just to see what would happen. That stunt got me banned from making the office coffee.

Is there any food you refuse to eat? (Other than brussel sprouts because NO ONE likes them)
I LOVE brussels – they are my favorite vegetable. I refuse to eat olives, avocado and salmon to name a few. Dislike them all.

What is your favorite breakfast cereal? Are you opposed to those brands with tiny marshmallows in them?
I’m not a cereal lover or a breakfast lover. In fact, I wish I could take 1 nutrition pill a day and be done with it.

If you could live off of chocolate would you? What kind?
No. I tried it for 2 days as a kid (not my choice) and it’s not as fun as you’d think.

What do you think the coolest pet to have would be?
One that do the vacuuming, washing up and laundry.

If you could visit any world (real or imagined) where would you go?
Certainly not one of my own creation. I’m happy to stay planted in this one.

Have you ever done anything really crazy? Do you regret it?
No, but I’m about to. I’d rather regret the things I do than the things I don’t.

What kind of person drives you nuts? (personality trait)
Ooh, this is tempting to name the individual who immediately springs to mind. I dislike arrogance and self-absorbed people. Those are the ugliest traits in a human.

Do you prefer tapered candles, pillars or tea lights?
Pillars.

What do you think about scarves? Do you wear them or prefer a turtleneck?
I like both, but I don’t wear either. Both make me feel like I’m choking.
Do you like making up strange new words? (ie awesomesauce, techtarded) Please share if so!
No, the English language is complex enough.

Have you ever lost your wallet/purse? Did you find it again if so?
Never lost either. I hope I’m not jinxing myself.

When you rip out a page from a spiral notebook, do you leave the strip with the tabby pieces in? Or do you have to remove them?
How funny. I always remove the tattered strip. I can’t bear to leave the it behind in the notebook.

Have you ever owned tennis shoes with velcro instead of laces?
Hmm, I don’t believe so, but I did live through the 80′s and owned tons of weird stuff back then, so who knows?????

Have you ever gone out in public with your shirt on backwards, or your slippers on, and when realizing it, just said screw it?
No, but if I did, I’d say “screw it.” Got to be able to laugh at yourself.

Do you prefer fuzzy or tub socks?
What are tub socks? Is that an American thing?

Are you a person who makes their bed in the morning, or do you not see much point?
I always make the bed. An unmade bed parallels a messy mind.

Be honest, how often do you wash your hair?
5-6 days a week.

Do you get road rage? What pisses you off the most about other drivers?
As a commuter, many things other drivers do piss me off. Here’s a few: crawling along at 20+ miles below the speed limit, tailgaters, truck drivers who think they own the freeway, but most of all I hate looky-loos and drivers who go out of their way to cause disruption.

 Do you go out of your way to kill bugs? Are there any that make you screech and hide?
I go out of my way to avoid bugs, but if they cross my path I kill them. I’m a bug-a-phobe (ooh – did I just make up a word??!). I can’t bear any kind of bug, not even butterflies. Spiders really make me screech.

Jenny Hilborne  is the author of  Madness and Murder, No Alibi and now her newest release Hide and Seek
Vist her Website and her Blog 

Read Hide and Seek!

Halloween. A group of friends gather at a mansion and decide to play a game. When one of them disappears and a large pool of blood is found on the grounds, San Francisco homicide inspector, Mac Jackson, is called out to investigate. Two days later, the body is discovered.

As Jackson questions the guests, he uncovers old hostilities, secretive pasts, and the victim’s ties to another unusual death. At the center of it all is the lingerie bar, where the victim once worked. Are the girls in some sort of danger? Who is the thug with the scar? His best chance at solving the case hinges on an uncooperative source and Jackson must work fast, before it’s too late and his source disappears.

Available at Amazon and in Print

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Echelon Press, Untold Press

2 thoughts on “Jenny Hilborne- author of Hide and Seek- Wacky Interview!

  1. Ella Grey says:

    Great interview. I always love the random questions. Hide and Seek looks awesome as well. :)

  2. jfhilborne says:

    Thanks for hosting me, Jen. Here’s to many more chats….

Leave a Reply

