Start at the beginning…

Writing outside..

Every story must have a beginning, my writing journey began so long ago I can’t even pinpoint an exact date.

It began, as with many writers, with reading. My wonderful mother was, and still is, an avid reader. By the time I turned around ten years old I’d already read all of Walter Farleys Black Stallion books (there has to be at least 20 of them lol), as well as many Nancy Drew, and my sisters Sweet Valley High and Babysitters Club. (Yes I was occasionally desperate for things to read.) Once mother deemed me old enough, she started me on Anne McCaffery novels and other such fantasy books. To this day, I get a chuckle when browsing her selves for something to read, and see a “Jen NO” pencilled in the front of a book. She certainly made an effort to be sure I wasn’t reading things I shouldn’t be.

I started writing in public school. I still have a few of my short stories from then. (Maybe I’ll post one sometime, just for fun) By highschool I had started novels. I had a wonderful, long complicated one I’d almost finished. My computer crashed, also corrupting my floppy disk (remember those?). It was a serious blow to my writing. Some of it had been printed out, but not all. (I still have those pages too) However it didn’t take long for me to start again, and it wasn’t uncommon for me to stay up until 3am working on my book. That book turned into 2 and 3 and so on. I have actually finished (first draft) five books in my one series, with two others on the go. What can I say. I like the world and the characters I created. And I love to write.

Around a year ago my father convinced me to try to get published. Which involved editing (the first book) and researching agents, publishers, how to write a query. It was a challenge, but it was fun. My first rejections bummed me out a bit, but then it became almost a game, I’d collect them, but also work harder. I’ve edited and edited, and rewrote my query and synopsis I don’t know how many times.

This last year I’ve also started a whole new book set in a different world with new characters. I’ve even written a new short story, and polished it up (with help from some great friends!).

Though I do take breaks from my writing, a long one when the kids first came along, and little ones here and there, I can never seem to stay away long. I’m not going to complain. I love it, and hope I can keep on writing forever.

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

One thought on “Start at the beginning…

  1. shaydenfl says:

    LOL! You have quite the head start. I started around January of last year.

Leave a comment