Heather Ingemar- Spooky Times Blog Tour

Super big welcomes to Heather Ingemar for stopping by my blog today!

Heather S. Ingemar has loved to play with words since she was little, and it wasn’t long until she started writing her own stories. Termed “a little odd” by her peers, she took great delight in exploring tales with a gothic flair, and to this day, Edgar Allan Poe continues to be her literary hero. To learn more, please visit her Blog or follow her on Twitter,  Buy a story (or two or three): Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Fictionwise

“How I Got Where I Am”

By Heather S. Ingemar

I wasn’t always a writer. Sure, I told – and loved – stories as a child, but none of them were brilliant, none of them followed the rules of English, and quite a few of them were customized spin-offs from my favorite books.

In school, I hated grammar, and parsing sentences was the bane of my 4th grade existence. Looking at me today – proud holder of a Bachelor’s degree in English Lit, with over 15 published stories (some of them award-winners) to my credit plus many more in the works – you’d probably never guess I was the petulant grammarian who still can’t tell you what an antecedent is.

And yet, I am an author. I just had to learn to write first.

Learning to write takes time and the will to keep at it. As simple as words are, they can be devilishly tricky to get in the right spots. A good grammar manual (I recommend the “Scott Foresman Handbook for Writers”) can work wonders. Also, don’t underestimate the worth of a solid writing group or class. If they’re good at giving constructive critique and they understand your style, your writing will grow by leaps and bounds.

But the important thing is that you write. Put those words on the page and see where they take you. It doesn’t matter if they don’t pan out the first, fifth, or hundredth times: indeed, every word counts, and I have learned more from my failed attempts than from my successes. When they say a new writer has to write a certain amount of crap before getting to the good stuff, they’re right.

So get those words down, Young and Budding Talents. Each one brings you closer to your goal.

The next stop on the Spooky Times Blog Tour is:

Echelon Explorations Blog on October 5


About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

5 thoughts on “Heather Ingemar- Spooky Times Blog Tour

  1. Thank you for hosting me, Jen! 🙂

    (There is a small correction: it should read “over 15 published works”… somehow I think my computer farted and put a blank there, lol)

  2. jlwylie says:

    Thank you Heather!!
    It is a great pleasure to have you!
    Will fix that typo up now! 🙂

  3. Penny says:

    I think I never liked English until high school. So, I’m with you about it being a pain. I still am in no way a Queen of Grammar. But I write. I get the words down. (A lot more than I used to.) Great article, Heather!

    Penny
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

