Interview with Author Trisha Wolfe

I have the wonderful pleasure of presenting you all today with an interview with the lovely and talented Trisha Wolfe. Please enjoy and feel free to post any comments or questions! Be sure to follow Trish on Twitter and also visit her web site and blog!

First of all, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I just want to say thanks so much for having me. I love your blog and your writing, and to be interviewed on your site alongside wonderful agents and authors and yourself is humbling. My name is Trisha Wolfe, and I’m a young adult book addict. I read, write, and breath the genre, I just can’t get enough.  But when I’m not devouring a book, I’m a stay at home mom. My son, Blue, is 12 and although he is a big enough boy now to be at home by himself, I think it’s more important to be home with him now after school more than ever. Kid’s at this age tend to get themselves into trouble when left to their own devises 😉 And I like that the kids in the neighbor hood have a place to go where someone can look after them. I’m also the wife of a very understanding man, Daniel. He is pretty easy on me when it comes to my lack of cleaning and cooking when I get into a project, so for that I’m lucky. Other than that, I’m pretty much a laid back person, except when I get going on a new WIP, then my boys do their best to stay out of my way lol, because I get all manic and work work work!

When did you first start writing? Do you prefer writing short stories or novels?

I first began writing, truly attempting it, at 13. I wrote a lot of poetry back then (don’t we all at that age 😉 ) and had my first work, Last Kiss, published in an anthology titled Interludes. Though I still love to read poetry, I don’t write as much anymore. I completed my first novel last October, which received several lovely rejections, and went on to write and submit short stories in hopes of gaining some publication credits and experience. I actually found writing short stories a bit more daunting than novels. You have to limit what you can write about, and what you do write must be the absolute best and get across to your reader in such a short space, it’s difficult. I can honestly say I prefer working on books rather than stories. You have a looser structure to play with. And the character development is one of my favorite aspects, and short stories don’t allow me to dive as deep with that as novels.

You have a number of short stories in print. Can you tell us about your publishing journey? Is there anything you would do differently if you could go back in time?

Ha! Do I? Definitely a bunch. As I said, short stories was something I felt was necessary, for me at least, to get into the publishing world. All the stories I have out now and coming out, six in total, I accomplished just this year. If I could go back, I would have started writing them and submitting to journals and magazines long before I ever started working on the novels. It truly trains you on how to approach and handle yourself when dealing with editors. It also is a brutal but efficient way to train yourself in editing. After editing numerous short stories, I find editing my novels a bit less stressful 🙂

You are not only an author, but a mother as well. Have you found it challenging doing both?

Honestly? Not at all. I’m pretty lucky. Blue is a wonderful kid. And I guess the fact that I’m not chasing him around trying to strap diapers on him anymore helps also ;). He’s pretty easy when it comes to finding time to write. I just make sure that dinner is ready for my family when they get in, their clothes are at least clean if not folded and hung, and that homework gets done. All the little things I try not to let bother me. As he approaches teen years, I know it’s going to get much harder, but at this point I’m choosing my battles. And I believe that focusing on writing actually helps our relationship because I have something of my own and I’m not feeling so rejected as he is finding his own independence. We have a pretty good relationship.

What projects are you working on now? More short stories or another book? Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?

Well, I just completed my second novel Enrapture, back in August. And while I’m querying agents on that, I’ve been steadily working on a novella collection that I actually have one small publication interested in. I took some of the characters from the first failed novel and implemented them into three different tales centered around a paranormal town called Haven Falls. Haven Falls was the working title my first book, and I truly hope that the publishers stay interested. I love Corin and Aiden and would really love to see them in print one day.

You have another short story being published soon. What is it about and where will be able to find it?

Awakened Enchantment is actually a reprint. It was published first by Ethereal Tales, and then accepted again for publication with Moon Drenched Fables, and online journal. It’s a tale of finding true love through the obstacle of faerie magic. It was the second short story I wrote back in February. As you can see, publishing and writing is a life of patience lol. After you get accepted, sometimes you have to wait months, maybe even years before you can see it materialized in proof. Oh, and if you go to the site you can read other stories there and vote for the best of issue. I’m not saying vote for me… but it would be nice 😉

You have written a book, Enrapture, have you started looking for a publisher yet? Do you find it more difficult selling a book compared to a short story?

I’ve actually only queried a hand full of agents at his point. After receiving so many rejections on my first novel, I decided to have professional eyes take a look at it. So I’ve sent it out to an editor for an analysis on tone, pacing, character, structure- all the good stuff- just to make sure it’s the best it can be before I blanket New York in queries. Once I get done with another rewrite, I’m going to query my little heart out. But if all doors slam shut, then I’m going to begin submitting to smaller publishing houses. And if all those doors close, I’m not opposed to self publishing 🙂 And yes, it’s much, much more difficult to sell a novel rather than short story.

Visit Trisha's Blog!

I love reading your blog, can you share with other writers the importance of marketing yourself and your work? Which marketing strategies have you found to be the most beneficial?

Marketing was a hard idea for me to swallow. I am a very shy person, very loner-to-herself type. And my mother actually had to talk me into putting up a web site and blog lol. I just couldn’t accept the concept that anyone would be interested in reading anything I had to say. I mean, I write fiction, I write fiction because as you can see- I’m not so good on the nonfiction part- and talking about myself on a blog- about personal things- actually terrified me. But now that I’ve gotten over that whole part of it, I wished I would have done it sooner. I have been able to meet so many wonderful, creative people that have inspired me and became such close friends. Marketing from an agents point of view is important, and I can see why. It shows them that you can handle being in the public eye, and you have enough charisma to entertain people. But what I’ve truly found, is that you gain wisdom and comradery with other writers through the process. And out of everything- blogging, web sites, giveaways, honestly? Twitter has been the most beneficial. There is an abundance of knowledge there just waiting to be read. Best advice? Follow agents, authors, publishers. Listen to what they say, and form friendships with other aspiring writers.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Don’t give up. No matter what. I had never once cried or been upset over a rejection letter. I just brushed them off- moving onto the next- until the day that I got the letter that leveled me. It wasn’t mean, it wasn’t nasty, it was the nicest rejection letter I had ever received. The agent told me she was really on the fence about asking me for sample chapters. She said that she really was interested, but at this time she couldn’t take on another client. You would think I would have jumped up and down because she actually liked my letter? Nope, I dropped to my knees right then and felt more discouraged from hearing that for some reason than just getting a flat out form rejection. But, I picked myself up, and said I’ll take it as a sign I’m getting closer. Just don’t ever give up. Even if you have to publish your own work, if it’s important to you, and you’ve slaved your life away on it, make it count!

Is there anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Yes, I hope I have some! =) No, honestly, I thank the people who take time out of their busy, kid, spouse, work scheduled lives to read my stories and become a member on my site. Having their support means so much. I thank them from the bottom of my heart, and hope one day to be able to include them in the acknowledgements of my very first published novel. And thank you so much also Jen for this opportunity to get to know you as well as other on your blog.

 

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

4 thoughts on “Interview with Author Trisha Wolfe

  1. Sean hayden says:

    Great interview! Good luck with everything, Trish. 🙂

  2. Trisha Wolfe says:

    Wow, Jen, you ask great questions! I had so much fun doing this interview with you! This has been a great experience and I thank you so much for the opportunity. I hope one day I’m able to pay it forward, and the best of luck to you as well. I can’t wait to read your book. =)

  3. angela wolfe says:

    Hi Trisha, what at great interview and also great questions, Jennifer. I wish you both much success, and I think you both did a wonderful job and deserve to get your books published. I can’t wait.

  4. Debbie Wentlein says:

    Great interview, Trisha, I hope you get your book published I would really like to read it .

Leave a Reply

