Interview with Author Rebecca Royce

I have the extreme pleasure of introducing you all to romance author Rebecca Royce! Please enjoy and be sure to check out all of her links and books! Feel free to leave a comment!

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Sure! Well, I’m the mother of 3 little boys (yes, all boys. LOL) who are 5, 3, and 1 years old.  They keep me very busy, very entertained, and always on my feet. I’m married to my best friend who I met many years ago when I was briefly living in New Orleans and going to law school. Law school didn’t take but the husband did so I guess the years in the Big Easy were not a waist.  I was raised by really wonderful parents who embraced my sense of creativity and kept it fueled with nights spent watching Star Trek and talking about the Hobbit.  I think that is where I got my love for the Paranormal and Science Fiction.  Now, I’m hoping to be able to do the same for my kids!

 

How long have you been writing? Have you always written novels, or shorts and other forms as well?

I can remember writing my first book when I was in fourth grade.  As I am now well into my thirties that was a long time ago.  In the beginning, my books tended to show up around the 50 K word marker. The Westervelt Wolf series is all around that number in word count. That is a short novel. Now, my new writing is breaking the 80 K word barrier so maybe it is fair to say in my old age I have more to say. LOL

 

Do you find it difficult being both a mother and writer? Have you come across any tips or tricks you can share with us other writer moms?

In a word, yes.  I wish I had some tricks but I don’t know that it is any different than any other career we, as women, might chose to have.  In some ways it is easier, I am home. I don’t have to worry about who is watching the kids when I’m not here but then its also hard to get a little free time to do the writing.  So, no I wish I had some advice, just a general ‘keep your head up ladies, we’ll all get through it together.’

 

Can you tell us about your initial challenges in getting your work published? Is there anything you would change if you could?

I knew very little when I subbed my first book and it was universally rejected, as it should have been. Later, with my second book, Her Wolf, I had spent a year in a writers group having my work critiqued and I knew more about the process.  If I could, I would have started with the group. I learned a lot there.

 

What avenues have you found to work the best for marketing your books?

I use a professional marketing site as well as interviews, blogs, and ads.  I think what works on one particular day might not work on another. Its about keeping up with it and having a lot of luck.

 

Is anything in your books based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Well, there is always something of my real life in my books.  In Her Wolf, years ago, the opening scene is clearly a zoo where I go with my kids.  In Wolf’s Magic, the most recent Westervelt book, one of the characters is an artist. Her description is very close to someone I know.

 

What writing project are you working on now?

I am writing the second book in YA series I am doing with Decadent Publishing.  Also, I am writing the next Westervelt book. Then a stint into Science Fiction followed by my next Superhero book.

 

Do you plan to keep writing romance, or will you ever jump into other genres as well?

I may eventually jump but I’m pretty happy with romance.  My YA is more Urban Fiction than romance but it has strong Romantic Elements

 

Do you have any advice to give to inspiring writers?

Keep writing. Put your rear end in the chair and get the writing done.

 

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Thank you so much for your tremendous support. Every e-mail I receive makes me want to work harder!

You can follow Rebecca on Twitter, and be sure to check out her Website and Blog,

And on Tuesdays–Paranormal Romantics


About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

One thought on “Interview with Author Rebecca Royce

  1. Thank you for having me!

Leave a Reply

