NaNoWriMo Is Here! What am I doing!?!

It has finally arrived, the much anticipated start to NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) Can I write 50,000 words in a month? That’s 1, 667 a day. Looking at it that way, then yes, it’s doable. Normal days when I’m writing I can easily crank out 3-5k, my record is 7500 words in one day.

That said, I still don’t know WHAT I’m writing. I’ve been going back and forth between starting the sequel to the YA novel I just finished, or writing an Echo book.

Such a dilema! The sequel I have all the basics and characters already. I even have a general idea of what is going to happen. However I just finished the first book and am only half way through edits. Should I even bother writing a sequel before I find out if anyone may be interested in the first?

As for my Echo book, its rather the opposite. Though I have a very, very general idea I don’t have much else. I do have the title “The Echo and the Ghost” or maybe “The Ghost and the Echo” 😛 and a few of the characters (basically ones I’ve written in my shorts will be making appearances.) The Echo in question is to be Soul, who appeared briefly in my second Echo short, and also on my blog (See Echo Shorts Section) however I don’t even have a name for my Ghost, and know little other than it will be a female. 😛 If I only had a name… as the song goes.

I guess I will think on it today, and see if I have some sudden inspiration (which lucky does occasionally happen!)

Are you NaNoing?

If you want to be my NaNoWriMo buddy click here!

UPDATE: I went with the Echo book.

First lines:

It all started with a bright light. It ended with one too.

Wish me luck!

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Is Here! What am I doing!?!

  1. Trisha Wolfe says:

    I vote Echo book =) But that’s because I’m selfish and I want one lol. But I know anything you write is going to be good, so just go for it! But if you write a sequel then I’ll have the second one ready to read when I finish the first hmmm *debating* =)

  2. Brenda Sedore says:

    I’m going to be doing Nano as well. I’ve got a title and a general idea of the story. That’s how A Snake in Paradise started out and it’s turned out to be a great book. I think that’s the best way to start Nano. Some of the best writing comes out of just letting your subconscious take over. 🙂 Good luck to you!

  3. Cathleen Miller says:

    I agree that which ever you write will be great. Not sure if I’ll get to the finish line but for me is was just immersing myself in the process. Let us know which way it goes. 🙂

  4. Emma Larkins says:

    I guess I’m too late to vote, but I would have voted for the Echo one – I think it’s better to work on a sequel when you’ve cleansed your mind of the first novel, and also it sounds like you need a bit of a challenge 🙂 Speaking of challenge, I’ve been challenged to 50,000 words in 14 days instead of 30!

Leave a Reply

