How to Blog- and get people to read it!

I’m feeling very proud of myself today. My blog reached 2000 hits! Woot! I’m excited because I just started blogging in mid-July, less than four months ago!

So I’ve decided to blog about blogging today, since I keep getting asked, “How did you DO that?!” For those who really want to know.. read on!

For starters, I’d like to say I am an author, so I will be making who I blog in reference to that, however you can insert instead anything else at all. πŸ™‚

So the first question is why am I blogging? I started out because I was told to when I was an aspiring author (which wasn’t that long ago! I’m still bouncing!) My book will not sell itself, I needed a PLATFORM which included a website, blog and various other social media such as Twitter and Facebook. (This is important for later)

I created my blog and then I had to decide WHAT exactly I was going to blog about. Thinking on that I decided it had to be things relevant to ME and also to my readers.

WHO my readers would be is very important. If your readers aren’t interested in what you’re writing about, they aren’t going to read, or come back. Since I had been building a Twitter following I saw most of my followers were authors, aspiring authors, bloggers and people who liked to read. Since I could relate to all them, that made the WHAT much easier for me.

Back to the WHAT. What you choose to write about needs to be your own, it needs to be YOU. If you hate book reviews, don’t do them. What I chose to blog about was the following:

  • My writing journey- General Rambling about the progress of my writing and finding a publisher
  • Things I had written- posting short stories etc I had wrote
  • Book Reviews
  • Author Interviews
  • Tips for authors and aspiring authors

Now to start blogging- anything you should know? YES!

First of all.. have a GREAT title. You want some catchy, relevant and if possible short. It can be more easily promoted this way.

Second- don’t forget to fill in the TAGS section if your blog provider has this option. This will help those browsing or searching (for example) wordpress.

Third- if your blog has the option to show the little buttons for your posts to be shared- do this! (Note: for these buttons to be SEEN you have to click on the post title and be taken to that posts page. So when you DO promote, use the link for the post, not your general blog link!)

Another big question:How OFTEN to blog?

This is of course, up to you and also depends on how much time you have. Some people blog every day, personally this can be too much. Followers can’t keep up. Once a month? Not enough… you are forgotten. I find a happy medium and 1-2 times a week. Occasionally I will do more, sometimes less. It is of course up to you πŸ™‚

So now you are blogging away… you have great posts! They are awesome and everyone should read them! But.. how?

Now we go back to your PLATFORM. Time to get the word out!

Post links to your blog on every site site you can, on your website, in your profiles etc.

TWITTER: I tweet a lot. I make myself known by tweeting back and talking to a lot of them, making friends. All the authors I’ve interviewed I’ve met on twitter. They then also tweet my blog to further promote, or post on their website, fb abt the interview. One author interview got me 115 hits in just one day.

(SIDE NOTE: So by interacting you INCREASE your exposure. Guests on your blog are a good thing, they will help spread the word. This goes the same for facebook etc. TALK to your followers and fans!)

When you blog, post your links on facebook and any other place you can as well.

Now the big question… how often to promote a post? DON”T over promote! You will just be annoying. I only post a blog link ONCE to facebook. On twitter, it depends WHAT I wrote. An author interview or book review? Max 3 posts a day usually. I would like to note again, I tweet a lot, so they buried in my stream quickly πŸ˜› I’ll usually do a New! and then Did you see…? or If you haven’t seen..

What about posting again at a later date? I do this (twitter only) and again, only on well received posts, or informative ones. Still, I often only do this if I haven’t blogged anything new, or maybe once a month or so.

Use your statisics to see how your posts are doing. Some getting a lot more hits than others? Perhaps you should concentrate on doing more of that type.

Some other blogging ideas to bring people in are doing contests, or going on (or being a host in) Blog tours.

Slowly your hits are going up! Yay! Now what?

Keep it up! Keep interacting! One big aspect of this: reply to any comments left on your blog. Yes, sometimes people do come back to check!

Have any questions? Do you have any further advice for bloggers who to gain exposure? Please comment! πŸ™‚

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

16 thoughts on “How to Blog- and get people to read it!

  1. Thanks. I found the share buttons on my blog.

  2. This was a brilliant blog Jennifer. Well done you. This advice has been so useful and I will be using a lot of the advice.
    You amaze me how you find the time to do all of this, you are wonder woman!!!
    Take care sweety and thanks again πŸ™‚

  3. Trisha Wolfe says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more on this advice =) Will def. put it to good use! Thanks so much for always having such great posts on your blog!

  4. Great advice! I will definitely use some of those ideas. Thanks for posting it in such detail too.

  5. Brenda Sedore says:

    Really good post, Jennifer, and very helpful.

  6. It was interesting to hear how often you link to a post on Facebook and Twitter. Thanks for the advice!

    • jlwylie says:

      Thanks Jennifer.
      It’s a fine balance between getting seen and been annoying LOL πŸ™‚
      It does of course depend a lot on how often you tweet or fb too, and how many followers you have. Things can get buried quickly if you talk a lot. (LIke I sometimes do!)
      πŸ™‚
      Happy Blogging!

  7. Samuel says:

    I’m sorry. I don’t fit your usual demographic. I found your site by searching for the word “blog” on Twitter (because I enjoy reading somewhat random stuff). I also have a somewhat random blog because I do enjoy writing sometimes.

    I guess my point is even without much advertising or much What, you can eventually get a high hit count too. (I sure that that there was probably a 3 second max viewing rule in there somewhere.) It also had a name that means nothing too (spufool.wordpress.com). So I renamed it a few weeks ago to something that more describes what the blog was about (and deleted 3/4ths of my blog postings). And I guess I follow the suggestions of this blog post even though my main motivation is to write sometimes and to not provide useful information for anybody.

  8. […] downtown, I wanted to find a new blog so I searched for “blog” on twitter and I found this excellent blog post. Β This started getting me thinking about demographics. Β What is my What is this blog and related: […]

  9. Eileen says:

    Some good advice and some things I hadn’t thought of before. Thanks.

  10. Angela K Roe says:

    Terrific advice, as usual! Thanks Jen!!

Leave a Reply

