Writers on Writing by Kristin Callender

I’m very happy to introduce you all to the most wonderful author Kristin Callender!

Do feel free to post a comment or say hi! Happy reading (and writing!)

Don’t forget to check out Kristin’s website HERE

You can also read some sample chapters of her work HERE

Also follow her on Twitter!

I have learned a lot as a new writer, which is funny for me to type since I have been a writer all my life in one aspect or another, just not one with the goal of publishing. When I  had my first novel published by a small press I was bitten by the publishing bug. I wanted to see my work in print and still want to make some what of a living from this love of words I’ve always had. This, I am learning, is not an easy goal to attain. The publishing world is packed with writers who want the same things as me and more, and even when you do get something published there’s no guarantee that you’ll eke an actual living out of the sales or appearances. So, what’s a writer to do when faces with all of this reality? Find ways to stay focused, keep motivated, and never stop trying.
For me, one way was to bring my focus back to the writing. Marketing and promoting a book is like being on a year long roller coaster. You’re holding your breath as you climb, and feel it in your stomach as you plummet, and all the while you are eagerly awaiting the next climb and mentally trying to prepare for the plummet. It’s exhilarating and exhausting and pretty much stomps the life out of your writing process, if you let it. Don’t get me wrong being published is great, but it’s not passion. It’s more of a lust. It’s a rush, it’s a great feeling, and then it’s over and you’re left there thinking, was that it? or, asking could I have done that better or different? Writing needs passion; real feeling to keep it going through those long, can’t make these freakin’ words work, kind of days.
This is why I started my Writer Wednesday blog series. I wanted to get off the roller coaster and stop obsessing about publishing and just write. What better inspiration is there than listening to other writers talk about writing? Since starting this series in March of 2010 I have featured many writers, from aspiring to very successfully published. They have shared their writing life in different ways, all of which I have found inspiring and helpful to reigniting my own passion for writing.
For the month of December I have fine tuned my blog series to focus on writers of holiday themed works. I am featuring authors of Christmas novellas, Hanukkah books for children, Holiday fiction that has inspired Cookie Clubs and others that have been turned into popular movies, Winter Solstice articles, and books celebrating Kwanzaa.
Out of all of the diversity I find some things to be true for all of the writer’s I’ve featured. We all have a passion to write and share words, beliefs, our own versions of what is right or wrong in the world.  We all face the successes and failures of writing, sometimes in the same day, and we all continue to find ways move on and get that next word down.
Thank you Jen for having me as a guest on your blog and thanks to all who stopped by to read today. Hope you and yours have a happy and healthy holiday season, no matter how you choose to celebrate.
Kristin  *<( 🙂


About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

3 thoughts on “Writers on Writing by Kristin Callender

  1. Very cool idea for a blog series. It is hard to keep motivated sometimes, but the results are so worth it.

    Julie

  2. Kristin says:

    Hi Julie. Thanks for stopping by. I agree, blog topics can be tough to come up with. Featuring other authors has been great.

    Thanks Jen for having me on your blog. Good luck on your December 15th release!

Leave a Reply

