Interview and Giveaway with Author Katie John!

Katie M. John

Today I have the lovely and talented Katie John stopping by! Please enjoy the interview and comment below for a chance to win a signed ARC of her book! ~winner EJ has been contacted! Thanks for playing everyone!~

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live on the outskirts of London with my wonderful husband and two foot mud-puddle fairy, Rossetti who is 3years old. I love writing, painting, cooking and music. My friends would say I’m a little eccentric – I think I’m the only balanced one amongst them. LOL

What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?

Yes. I have a ‘proper’ day job too. I teach English at a London Comprehensive school, teaching English Language and Literature.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I started writing ‘The Knight Trilogy’ #1 ‘The Forest of Adventures’ whilst I was on maternity leave with my daughter. It was the first time since I had left university that I actually had time to stop and take stock. I was lucky, I had an idyllic early motherhood – my daughter was a very good baby and so I had a lot of time to write.

How did you choose the genre you write in?

The genre kind of chose me. (LOL) Ever since being small, I’ve been away with the fairies. At heart I am a complete goth, I love all the beauty and exquisite feeling that comes with gothic writing – fairytales to me are part of this. I love symbolism and the idea of writing as part of a much bigger symbolic structure.

Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write?

I’m very lucky, I seem to have the opposite of writer’s block – more like writer’s flood. It can be quite exhausting trying to manage all the ideas and creative inspiration that I have; I just wish I had more time in the day to be able to sit and write more.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

The first book that really punched me in the gut was George Orwell’s ‘Nineteen Eighty Four’. When I read it, it suddenly opened up a whole new world of understanding to me. Three weeks later, I read Lord of The Flies and this had a profound effect on me – it made me realise how a book can work emotion – really get inside somebody’s head. I teach it to my GCSE students alongside Conrad’s ‘Heart of Darkness’; they make a powerful combination.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

My favourite scene in the whole book is when Mina and Blake meet in the woods after they have been avoiding each other. It’s intense and beautiful. Explores the whole issues of power in a relationship and is incredibly hot. Also, I love the scene with the snow and the butterfly. It’s based on a real life incident.

How did you come up with the title?

It is a phrase from Mallory’s Morte de Arthur; this was a massive influence on the work.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Dreams take an awful lot of hard work; they don’t just happen. Don’t give up and I can not stress enough the importance of understanding the importance of branding. In this day and age, the author is as much part of the brand as the work.
The other advice that I wish I had understood before I started this journey, was how important it is to build yourself a portfolio of work and testimonials – to build a readership before approaching publishers.

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Yes, a MASSIVE thank you for all your wonderful letters, comments and reviews. You have helped me to finally accept that maybe, just maybe I’m a writer.

FUN QUESTIONS!

The light side or the dark side?

In the day – the light side, at night – the dark side! I can be both very light and very dark all at once; think shadows on a bright sunny day.

What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met?

We’d irritate the hell out of each other – we’re too much alike.

What sort of Starbuck’s coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?

Full fat latte, two brown sugars.

Is there any food you refuse to eat? Drink of choice?

I’m a massive foodie, pretty much eat most things but the one thing I won’t eat is Macaroni cheese. (very bad experience LOL!)

What pets have graced your life? Which was your least favorite? What do you think the coolest pet to have would be?

I had a cockatiel that thought he was human; his name was George. I was fifteen and he was in love with me. He would scream until I got him out and he spent his life on my shoulder; pegging out the washing outside, in the shower in the morning, at my desk doing homework. I couldn’t go anywhere without him following me. I also had a parrot, Charlie, who was just bonkers and saved my life when he sadly passed of Carbon Monoxide poisoning whilst residing in my student pad. If he hadn’t passed, I wouldn’t have woken up the next day.
We know have a house rabbit called Jeff who thinks he is a cat.

If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go?

Most definitely it would have to be Wonderland, followed closely by The Realm.

Visti Katie at:

www.theknighttrilogy.com

Follow her on twitter at: @knighttrilogy

Purchase her book at:

Amazon.co.uk https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0049H9268

Amazon.com https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0049H9268


GIVEAWAY!

Leave a comment here to enter to win a free signed ARC (Advanced Readers Copy) of Katies book!

Contest open until April 1st. Open to everyone!

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

18 thoughts on “Interview and Giveaway with Author Katie John!

  1. Trisha Wofle says:

    Oh this book sounds wonderful! It’s one of my fave genres too =) Great interview ladies! And I couldn’t agree more with Katie, dreams take a LOT of work, never give up. We writers have to keep on and love what we do =) Best of luck to Kaite and great job on the questions Jen!

  2. Verna Clay says:

    Great Interview and love the book covers. The trilogy sounds fascinating. The full fat latte is my kind of latte!

  3. Amy says:

    What a beautiful cover! Sounds like a great book.

    Amy // artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  4. E.J. Stevens says:

    Wonderful interview! Looking forward to reading The Forest of Adventures. 🙂
    xx,
    E.J.
    Paranormal Author E.J. Stevens
    From the Shadows

  5. Great interview and giveaway!! I really loved the cover..
    I’ll happy if can get this book as my new collection, please count me!!

  6. Great interview. Had a cat once that thought he was a dog as he had to compete with 4 puppies for out attention. She would sleep with them at night and wrestle them in the day. Ate with em and would join them in the hustle bustle when I open the back door. Best cat ever. Cool about your parrot though. I think most pets think they are human. To a point. Lol. Thanks for the great thoughts and good luck with your novel nplease take a mOment to read my new short story. Bounce House on my web site. http://WWW.characterswellmet.blogspot.com. Thanks. Cheers

  7. Mallary Mott says:

    Loved the interview! I’m really looking forward to this book. Can’t wait! Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. Heidi Gleb says:

    Thanks for letting us in on your world. Gotta say, though, no mac-n-cheese? Try it with bleu cheese crumbles–oh, so yummy! Would love to read the ARC.

  9. Lucia says:

    It’s a great giveaway and I really want to read this book! and loved the fun question!

  10. ebyss says:

    Awesome giveaway. Let’s see…I’m a lover of winning contests, and I love books.

    Sounds to me like a win-win situation.

    Thanks for the great interview and for the contest

  11. Deborah A. says:

    Sounds like a great book!

  12. Cathy T says:

    OMG. I’ve been DYING to read this. 😀

  13. Laura Ferrari says:

    Lovely cover, reminds me of Peter Pan 🙂

  14. Ana Lucía Arroyave says:

    wow this book really sounds amazing. Thank you for making it international (to everyone) 🙂

  15. Erika D. says:

    This book is on my wishlist. It would be awesome if I won a copy! Is this contest international? (Canada)

    erikadlugoAT yahoo(DOT)com

  16. Awesome interview! I’ve recently added The Forest Adventure on my tbr list! 😀 It sounds like a really good read 😉

  17. Fantasyfanatic says:

    Loved the interview, can’t wait to finally read the book!

    P.S Does anyone have tips to get past a writers block? Thank you!

    • jlwylie says:

      thanks for posting!

      Tips:
      Listen to music. Go for a walk or drive.
      Skip ahead and go back to the hard part.
      Try just making notes of what happens next…to get ideas flowing.

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

