The Amazing Author Julie Campbell is by today!

My Ideas and how I get them.

The honest answer is… I have no idea how I get my ideas. They come to me in many different ways, almost as if I am a medium channeling them from some hidden story world. I’ve heard other authors mention the hidden story world too, so at least I’m not alone in this idea. I try to live in a fantasy world as much as I possibly can, and in my fantasy world, this hidden story land and my ability to channel it is possible.

In reality… well, I try to stay out of reality as much as I can.

Senior Year Bites, my young adult urban fantasy being published by Decadent Publishing came from a dream. Arabian Dreams, my young adult fantasy that will be published on August 1st by Quake, a division of Echelon Press was originally supposed to be a collection of short stories about a girl who had fantastical adventures on horseback. I got that idea while I was out riding my Arabian mare, Sabaska. She truly does take me to other worlds while we go out and ride, and I wanted to write about it. Several of my other stories started with characters, or other dreams, or a vague idea I wanted to play with. Sometimes fully formed novels just drop into my lap. My boyfriend, who I call the Irish Sailor, was telling me about this world idea he and a friend came up with. Fifteen minutes later I had an entire steampunk novel handed to me from the ether. I’m still playing with that concept.

My latest story came about from, essentially, a writing prompt from my publisher Echelon Press . She asked for authors to write a series of short stories for her Electric Shorts project. The writing prompt was something along the lines of teen horse western/adventure. I’m their resident equine scientist, so I decided that was the concept for me. The idea evolved over several IM conversations with my brainstorming partners, a few chats with my boyfriend and then some refinement with my publisher. It took about a week. Now, I only had the idea for the first story, and it needed to be a story arc, but I wasn’t worried. I’m a pantzer and I trusted that the rest of the stories would come to me from story world… and they have. I know the general plot arc for the entire series now. That evolved over some more brainstorming with another friend.

Even after analyzing how my stories have evolved from concept to word document, I have no real idea how they get there. I don’t outline so it really does feel like I’m channeling my characters as I write.

Thanks for stopping by. Westward, Yo! will be available in ebook on March 8th! I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Author Bio

Julie writes fantasy novels. When she’s not out riding her horse, she can usually be found sitting in front of her computer with a cat on her lap and her dog at her side.

 

Into the West #1, Westward, Yo!

Tina Harker is a typical teenager. She loves hanging with her friends at the malls, shoes, and manicures. More than that, she loves horses. Life is everything she wants it to be, until her father packs their family up and drags them across the world to Arizona. Does he really think she’ll be happy living in a ghost town in the middle of the desert? It’s a million miles to the nearest shopping center, not even a real mall. Her only hope for survival is finding a new horse.

Trying to make the best of her horrible situation, Tina agrees to go on her first cattle drive. When one of the calves wanders off, Tina, in true cowgirl fashion and looking for excitement, rides off to rescue the poor little thing and gets a lot more adventure than she ever expected. A cowboy she’s never met accuses her of stealing cows, bandits kidnap her, and that’s not even the exciting part.

 

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

11 thoughts on “The Amazing Author Julie Campbell is by today!

  1. Thanks so much for having me by Jen!!!

    Julie

  2. I love that your stories just come to you from the ether. Seems a little magical that way. 😉 Perhaps you have a story-stork! 😀

  3. Yes, reality is highly overrated!

    I’m very excited for your success, Julie!

  4. Mardel says:

    Great interview – I’m e-mailing you separate with this theory a friend had about some story ideas and where they come from….it’s crazy, but interesting.

  5. Livy Parker says:

    Can’t wait to read those, Julie:)

Leave a Reply

