Interview with Author Ella Grey

Ella Grey

Today I have the super sweet and wonderfully talented Ella Grey stopping by! Do say hello and feel free to comment! 😀

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

My name is Ella Grey. I’ve been a writer since I was fifteen. What a Way to Start the Day is my first published eshort.

What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?

Oh, the dreaded day job. I work in a bar, it was just suppose to be a part-time job and six years down the line I’m still there. I might sound a little bitter, there are parts about it I generally love.

Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write?

My head is a very crowded place. I’ve never had a problem with thinking up story ideas. Writers block is generally a pain in the arse. If you ever find a cure for it let me know. I generally just write, if I plan out something too much I generally lose interest with it.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Christopher Pike. It was his books that inspired me to write. Also comics were a big influence with me. If I could draw I’d probably be doing comics as well.

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?

I was incredibly lucky with the Molly story. I’m friends with one of the Echelon Press writers Nick Valentino on Myspace. He liked my work and suggested that I submit a story to Echelon and here I am now.

How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre?

I’m on a lot of networking sites. Twitter is ideal for any writer to get word out about their book. I’ve also been introduced to manic reader and good reads.

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?

I do have a novella. This links up to my published story but is much darker then Molly’s story. I haven’t tried to get it published, it needs to be edited the hell out of first.

Can you tell us about your book?

What a Way to Start the Day is a novella telling the story of Molly O’Brien. A fire witch with a dry sense of humour. She is also a thief, taking high paid jobs for supernatural clients. She ends up working for Christopher LaMorte, the hunted son of the vampire mafia. This novella tells their story.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Yes, when I first wrote the story I was trying to get pregnant. It all kind of evolved from there. What if a witch finds out she might be pregnant, its a interesting concept. The fact the would be dad has fangs makes it a great story. Also not one I’ve seen anywhere.

What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon? Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?

The sequel to Molly story has already been submitted. I decided to keep focused on her, but the male character has changed. There’s a character called Drake in the novella and we only meet him a few times. I really wanted to tell a little of his story and the part he plays in Molly’s life.
I’m also working on a YA story, a blend of werewolf and teen spy. The first instalment will be released on the 8th March. Followed by five more instalments over the next five months.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

Any compliment is a good compliment. I’m really just happy that people like the story I’ve told. The same goes with criticism. I believe that a writer is always learning, thank god for editors that all I can say.

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Stay with me folks, Molly’s story is going to blow you away.

FUN QUESTIONS!

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate.

The light side or the dark side?

Dark side is more fun.

If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Would you wear a cape?

I would have Molly’s fire power. Would I wear a cape? Hell yeah, or what would be the point?

What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met?

I’m not completely horrible to my character. We have the same sense of humour and I surround her with hot men.

Is there any food you refuse to eat?

I can’t eat kiwi or prawns. I had a terrible experience with a prawn salad one Christmas. Even mentioning it is giving me flashbacks ick.

What pets have graced your life? Which was your least favorite? What do you think the coolest pet to have would be?

There has been a lot of pets in my life. Owls, fish, gerbils, chipmunks (who ate their young) rabbits (who laid on and killed a smaller rabbit. Don’t really know how they managed that) cats. We have a dog now, he isn’t my favourite pet but he’s ours.

If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go?

That’s a really good question. I think it would be an alien planet, or spaceships. Sean Hayden’s world in Lady Dorn is pretty awesome.

What a Way to Start the Day, available at OmniLit for download in multiple formats!

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

3 thoughts on “Interview with Author Ella Grey

  1. HI..my name is Eliza Keating..i am a published kids author….very interesting post..great interview..I enjoyed this little insite into Ella Grey…sounds like my type of book

  2. Ella Grey says:

    Thanks for such a wonderful set of interview questions 🙂

  3. jlwylie says:

    Thanks so much for being on my blog Ella!
    Wishing you the best of luck in your writing, can’t wait for your next story!

Leave a Reply

