The Story Behind the Story-Guest Author Verna Clay

Verna Clay

I am so happy to have author Verna Clay on my blog today speaking about her latest release, 11:11 ‘Countdown to 2012’. Please read the story behind and story and check out her book! It is a fantastic read! See below for a chance to win a copy!

The Story Behind the Story

11:11 ‘Countdown to 2012’

When I decided to write my first novel, the idea of writing a story about the year 2012 never occurred to me while chasing plot scenarios in my mind. Sure, I sat on the edge of my seat watching the movie with John Cusack, and I read all the wild speculations about the Mayan calendar ending date of December 21, 2012. And, like most people, I wondered about the strange predictions coming from many sources.

But wait…I’m getting ahead of myself.

About three years ago, I had a sudden inspiration to use writing as a way of refocusing my mind in the midst of a long-term illness. I was already involved with multiple alternative therapies, so why not writing? Now, my dilemma was what to write about. I have always loved researching mysteries of the paranormal kind: crop circles, the Great Pyramid, UFOs, the Illuminati, other dimensions, and the like. I’ve even had some paranormal stuff happen in my own life. When I thought about that, I remembered a time when I was seeing the numbers 11:11 constantly. My husband was also seeing the numbers. It was uncanny. We did a Google search about the phenomena and were amazed by the number of people experiencing the same thing. Eventually, the recurrence of the numbers slacked off for my husband and I, and we put the weirdness of it behind us.

The idea of the heroine in my novel seeing the numbers 11:11 repeatedly, and the ensuing challenge of discovering the meaning, struck a chord. I now had the beginnings of my book, still not even thinking about the year 2012. I started doing internet research. Much to my surprise, I found more than one website declaring the Mayan Long Count Calendar ended on December 21, 2012 at 11:11 a.m. (Greenwich Mean Time). Wow! I had substance for my book right in line with what was constantly in the public eye.

I began my project. At first, it was difficult writing consistently. I wanted to skip for days on end. However, as I did more research, the plot thickened. I discovered that sun cycles alternate between being stormy and calm every eleven years; another 11:11. I discovered that one of the most complicated crop circles appeared on August 11, 1991, and that the start of the current age (the age about to end), according to the Mayan Long Count Calendar, began on August 11, 3114, B.C.E. Oh joy, was I intrigued.

Next, I researched what metaphysical scholars believed would happen in 2012. I researched the beliefs of ancient civilizations other than the Mayans. My plot grew exponentially. To this, I added some Illuminati stuff, some Denver Airport mystery, and my favorites: Giant Rock and Crystal Hill in Landers, California.

By now, I was writing every night and excited to uncover more enigmas. Of course, I fell in love with Theodore Baldwin (hero? or villain?). My heroine, Eve Applegate, also fell in love with him. As a natural course in their relationship (or maybe unnatural) they were forced to flee to exotic locations around the world. I enjoyed tagging along. Finally (sigh), the story began resolving and heading in a direction surprising even me.

Now, three years later, with the book finished and my health completely restored, I am beside myself (is that possible?) with joy that the mystery of 11:11, and accompanying mysteries, have been laid bare by research and the help of my imagination.

Theo, Eve, a cast of characters, and I, invite you to join us in an unforgettable journey of discovery in 11:11 ‘Countdown to 2012’.

Win a free ebook of 11:11 Countdown to 2012. Leave a comment on Verna’s Guest Book between now and midnight (pst) April 1st. Two winners will be chosen in a random drawing on April 2nd.

11:11 ‘Countdown to 2012’ is now available for 2.99 at [OmniLit][Kindle][Nook][Smashwords]

Find Verna Clay at

http://www.vernaclay.com

http://echelonpress.com/

 


About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

Leave a Reply

