Author Interview- Jeff Bennington- Reunion Tour

Please give super big welcomes to my talented feature author today; Jeff Bennington who is stopping by for an interview on his Reunion Blog Tour! Go to jeffbennington.com to learn more and to check out the tour schedule.

Hi Jennifer. Thank you for joining me on the REUNION Blog Tour. I want your readers to know that I’m giving away a Kindle on May 15th to a lucky follower of the tour. They can get the details about the book, the tour, and the contest at jeffbennington.com. Good luck, everyone!

Author Interview

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Sure. I’m a dad of four great kids and I’ve been married to my sweet wife for almost nineteen years. Oh, yeah, and I love writing. Been doing that for a while, but I didn’t attempt fiction until around 2007. Other than that, I’ve played drums since 1985, I’ve owned a home maintenance company, and I run when I get a chance, which isn’t much any more because I’m too busy blogging, tweeting and writing.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I actually started writing in the nineties, but I was only writing non-fiction, journals, Sunday school lessons, etc. Then in 2006, I wrote a non-fiction book called, How to Succeed in the Handyman business. Don’t bother looking for it. I never published it. Never tried. I just wanted to see if I could do it. Then after writing that, charts and all, I thought I’d try fiction. In 2007 I wrote a thriller called Chasing the Giants, followed by Killing the Giants, which is currently in a revision. You can find both of those on Amazon, but Chasing was a LuLu catastrophe and I stopped the press. My writing was terrible. I look back at that book now and laugh!

And now that you’ve written REUNION, what was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I love every chapter in REUNION. I spent two years on this book, while studying and reading to improve my writing. I wanted each chapter to grab you from the start, the middle to capture you, and the end of each chapter to leave you wanting more. I worked very hard to make each one meaningful, impacting the reader emotionally in some way. There are several that stand out, but they are the ones that I can’t talk about, because they are too scary or twisty-turny. I will say this; it was quite a chore getting the survivor’s twentieth reunion to land on chapter 20 – exactly. But I planned it that way from the beginning.

So you’re a plotter?

Not completely. I usually start with a short paragraph, a concept and then outline a few chapters from there. I do make character sketches and chapter goals, but I revise the outline often because the twists and turns are usually a surprise to me, often taking the story in a completely different direction than I originally planned. I think you need to be flexible with your story because they can become a living, breathing thing. But when a twist hits me, I feel like I’ve won the lottery.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

My next book after REUNION, is called Act of Vengeance – another supernatural thriller, due to come out in late 2011. It’s already finished and scheduled to begin editing this spring. I will say this, if you like REUNION, you will really like Act of Vengeance. It’s a hybrid of Damien and Sixth Sense. It’s a story about a ghostly boy who enters the life of an Indianapolis homicide detective, and supernaturally reveals the truth about several unsolved murders, the truth about his life and the truth about the detectives troubled past. It’s scary and sweet and you’ll never, ever, ever guess how it’s going to end…not ever.

Sounds interesting. Now some fun questions….

What sort of Starbuck’s coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?

I like peppermint mocha fraps, but we’ve cut back, so I make my coffee at home, using Folgers Special Blend, with 2 scoops of sugar and I don’t know how much Coffee-Mate Cinnamon Bun creamer, but it’s really good. My wife makes a killer cold-carmel on ice. (And I just used alliteration in that sentence! Go me.).

If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Would you wear a cape?

I’d fly for sure, cape and all. I used to daydream a lot as a kid, and I remember dreaming that I’d run so fast that I’d take off and just soar above everyone and never come back. Probably has something to do with a psychological issue I have with my father.

Do you have a deep dark secret? How about a shallow grey one?

Lots. Some of them are revealed in REUNION, but I’ll never tell which are mine and which are fiction. I will tell you, however, that I’m most like Tanner. Hint, hint.

Thanks for reading. Be sure to subscribe and follow Jennifer’s Blog, and then follow the rest of the REUNION Blog Tour for more unique posts about the book, the characters, etc. Go to jeffbennington.com to learn more and to check out the tour schedule. Be sure to get your copy on April 15th to help thrust REUNION up the rankings by purchasing en masse. Peace

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

6 thoughts on “Author Interview- Jeff Bennington- Reunion Tour

  1. Verna Clay says:

    Impressive interview. Reunion is going on my “to read” list. I enjoyed your candor in developing your writing skills. Maybe there’s hope for me.

    My husband and I cut back on Starbucks, too. We found a great creamer called “Italian Sweet Cream.” Oooo yummy!

  2. Kimber says:

    Loved this interview!! It revealed so much more about Jeff as a person, and it was a great introduction to Jennifer as a blog hostess!! Thanks so much for the insightful and fun questions & answers!!

    Kimber

  3. Thanks for stopping by Verna and Kimber! Itailian sweet cream does sound good. As far as my candor, I’ll be the first to admit that I was a 1 or 2 star author a few years ago. I still have a lot to learn. Thanks for dropping by.
    Jeff

  4. Brenda Wallace says:

    I admire how much effort you put into each chapter and it’s particularly cool that you planned the reunion for chapter 20. Every time I pull out an old ms to work on, I can see how much I’ve grown as a writer, and, yes, sometimes I cringe or have to laugh. I’m glad you didn’t let a prior disaster stop you. It’s fun following your blog tour.

  5. Hi Brenda…Followers who comment about each blog make it fun! Keep writing and I’ll follow your blog tour one of these days!

  6. hi Jennifer! hi Jeff! stopping by to show my support for the tour and for my buddy bloggers. c”,)

Leave a Reply

