Interview with Author Traci Hohenstein and Contest!

 Today I’m thrilled to have author Traci Hohenstein stop by for an interview! Please enjoy learning more about this fantastic author!

Comment for a chance to win a free ebook of Burn Out! (Open to everyone. One post per person. Contest ends May 8th) ~Contest Winner Tracey Alley! Congrats!!~

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m Traci Hohenstein and I live in NW Florida with my husband and three kids. We live in a small resort town and we love to go to the beach and hang out. I also find it a very peaceful and relaxing place to write.

What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?

I have sold real estate in Florida for over 15 years. I still have an active license but I’m concentrating on writing full time now.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book? I have been a part time freelance writer for over twenty years. I’ve written numerous magazine and newspaper articles. I started working on Burn Out – my first novel – during NANO last year. I spent January through March editing and polishing the manuscript. I published directly through Kindle, Pubit, Smashwords, and Createspace. Burn Out has received rave reviews since the release date.

How did you choose the genre you write in? I love to read suspense and thrillers so it was only natural that I write in that genre.

Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write? I was watching the story of missing teenager Natalie Holloway who disappeared in Aruba during a spring break trip. I was fascinated and heartbroken at the same time. How could a girl in the prime of her life just vanish without a trace? That was the seed of the idea of doing a series about a woman who locates missing persons.
On writer’s block – If I get stuck on a scene I just move on to the next one. On outlines – I generally have a beginning and ending in mind when I start. I like the freedom of just writing and seeing where the characters take me.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult? My favourite book is Gone With The Wind and I have read it many times throughout the years. My go-to writing book is On Writing by Stephen King. It has a prize place on my nightstand and I read a little bit every day to stay motivated.

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published? Finding the right people to help put the book together. I hired a cover artist, a formatter, and an editor. Three things that I think are a must to put out a professional product if you are going the self published route.

If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change? Not a thing.

How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre? I am really active on the online social media scene. I work the forums, interacting with other authors and readers on sites such as Facebook, Goodreads, Kindleboards, and many others.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book? Asylum Harbor is the second book in the Rachel Scott series (see Q15)

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination? Burn Out is about a missing firefighter. While it is a work of fiction, I relied heavily on my husband who is a firefighter to help me with the firefighting techniques in the book.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why? I love to write the first chapter of any novel. I love to find that element of excitement to propel the story forward. It’s my favourite part to write!

How did you come up with the title? I wanted something to reflect firefighting so my husband and I sat down and came up with a list of names. Burn Out made the cut at the last minute.

What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon? Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with? Asylum Harbor is the next book in the Rachel Scott series that will be published. Rachel is called down to the Bahamas to locate a missing teenager who vanished during a cruise. The teenager is the daughter of the Florida governor – so this is Rachel’s first high profile case. Of course I added a lot of twists and turns to the story. Asylum Harbor will be released this summer.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment? My toughest criticism comes from the people I love. LOL. My dad told me he hated the way I ended Burn Out. He is so hard to please. The best compliment came from my dad as well. Even though he hated the ending, he loved the story.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers? It’s simple. Write every day.

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans? I would say thank you for buying my book. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! And that you stick with me for as long as I write.
FUN QUESTIONS!

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate

The light side or the dark side? A little of both

If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Would you wear a cape? Yes, I would have a purple cape that made me invisible when I wore it.

Do you have deep dark secret? How about a shallow grey one? Don’t all writers have deep dark secrets?

What sort of Starbuck’s coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare? I love caramel macchiato.

Is there any food you refuse to eat? Drink of choice? I would try anything once. My favourite food is lobster and steak. I’m a margarita girl.

If you could live off of chocolate would you? What kind? I love dark chocolate.

What pets have graced your life? Which was your least favorite? What do you think the coolest pet to have would be? I have had many pets – dogs, cats, hamsters, fish…

If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go? Back in time to the days of Gone With The Wind. I would love to be Scarlett O’Hara.

Find Burn Out at:

amazon US link http://www.amazon.com/Burn-Out-ebook/dp/B004UW2UTI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1304025604&sr=8-1
amazon UK link http://www.amazon.co.uk/Burn-Out/dp/B004UW2UTI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=digital-text&qid=1304025684&sr=1-1
Barnes and Noble http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Burn-Out/Traci-Hohenstein/e/2940012294371/?itm=1&USRI=burn+out
Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/52336

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

6 thoughts on “Interview with Author Traci Hohenstein and Contest!

  1. jim bronyaur says:

    Great interview! 🙂

    Thanks for the contest, but NO WAY, I’m buying the book myself. Haha… seems like a great story and for $0.99, come on, how can anyone not pick it up, right? 🙂

    -Jim
    http://www.jimbronyaur.info

  2. I love to hear that a fellow NaNoWriMo author has published! So many don’t go the full distance. Congrats! My brother-in-law is a retired firefighter on a National Incidence Response Team and an avid reader. I’ll suggest the book to him!

  3. Tracey Alley says:

    Great interview Traci – looking forward to reading the book

  4. msthriller says:

    Thanks everyone. And thank you to Jen for having me!
    @Marty – thank you. I would love to send a copy of the book to your BIL if you want to email me his address. (tracihohenstein at hotmail dot com)

  5. Jackie Paulson says:

    I just found this blog and I am a writer and have books in the works.

Leave a Reply

