Interview with Author Rhiannon Paille

Today the wonderful Rhiannon Paille is by to answer some questions. Sit back and relax and enjoy learning more about this talented young author!

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
I’m an overqualified overachiever with 2 PhD’s an d a ton of other credentials. I’m a mom of two, owner of dogs and cats (who don’t get along) married to a chef (because I would starve without him) and I write books and read people. I don’t take myself that seriously, but I’m a hard worker (as in I’m always working, no time for fun)

What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?
I have one of those jobs everyone wishes they could have but don’t realize how hard it is. I work on LivePerson.com and I do private readings through my website www.rhiannonpaille.com. I’m a bonafide metaphysical therapist. I work from home, but contrary to popular belief, I don’t work in my pajamas.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I began writing when I was 12 and finished my first book when I was 24. I have a few shorts, one non fiction book and two fiction books finished. I have ideas for 17 other shorts/novels.

How did you choose the genre you write in?
It chose me, like a lot of other things in my life. I had these plans to be a singer when I was younger, and instead I’m a psychic and an author. Go figure.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?
The Hobbit inspired me in Grade 8, loved it. I got back into reading like a crack addict a couple years ago, and Shiver is one of my fav books of my adult years.
Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
It was beginner’s luck. I sent out this unpolished manuscript to one of the biggest publishing houses for metaphysics and they responded! We talked on the phone, revision requests were made, I submitted them, and then they rejected me. I guess they figured that a 25 year old writing a psychic development book didn’t work out too well for their marketing team and then the 2012 movie was taking off and they handed the project back to me. Fortunately, they gave me a lot of pointers, and even said my book was a standard in metaphysics and that gave me the courage to go it alone and self publish it.


Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?
The fiction work is a lot harder. It’s that there’s a lot more competition and it comes down to timing and people fitting in. The problem is, I’m often told I don’t fit in (seriously, got fired from 3 different jobs in a row once for “not fitting in”) and so I’m waiting for someone to be like, “We need to publish someone who is NOT of the norm!” And that’s when I might fit in . . .


Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
Obviously Integrated Intuition includes a lot of personal life stories from clients, family, my teenage years, etc. I tried to be very candid about things that I’ve been through. With the fiction it’s all about my guides and their stories and weaving mythology and culture together to bring something truly unique to the table. I find that my character types are obscure and therefore not overdone.


14)How did you come up with the title?
It was a song. I finished the book (well one draft at least) and the next day this song by Canadian artist Billy Talent came on the radio. The song was Surrender, and I almost peed my pants when I looked up the lyrics. You’d have to know my book to know why, but Surrender became the title that sums it up perfectly.


16)What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?
The hardest thing to take was an agent who said they loved my premise and my writing was strong, but they had to pass on my project. It was sort of a best and worst in one shot, and it just stung.


FUN QUESTIONS!

The light side or the dark side?
Dark!
What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met?
Haha funny question. My MC and I share so many qualities I think we’d just end up crying together.
What sort of Starbuck’s coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?
Ew to Starbucks.
Is there any food you refuse to eat?
This is a weird question. I refuse to eat alligator or snake. (Chef husband has tried to get me to eat both, um, NO!)
If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go?
Avristar, it’s the only world I’ve written about.

Find out more about Rhiannon:

www.rhiannonpaille.com
http://rhiannonpaille.blogspot.com
www.liveperson.com/rhiannon-paille
Twitter: @RhiannonPaille
Facebook: Rhiannon Paille

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

One thought on “Interview with Author Rhiannon Paille

  1. Wow – great interview! I had no idea you were a psychic, Rhiannon. How neat that you’re able to apply those skills to your writing. BTW, I’m not eating snake or alligator either! 😉

Leave a Reply

