Interview with Author Jason Beymer

I’m super excited to have a really cool author on my blog today! Jason Beymer is by talking about himself and his new book!!

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m an evil Gemini. I enjoy videogames, beer, reality TV, reading, and virtual walks on a virtual beach. I also enjoy writing. A lot.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I’ve been writing since I was a toddler. At three years old I was a felony plagiarist, stealing from Beatrix Potter and Mother Goose. I rewrote their stories a thousand times. I finished my first “real” book in high school. It was terrible, but I was a high school punk who thought research, listening to anyone over the age of 20, and editing were for suckers. The book was about two rogue CIA agents trying to kill each other in Los Angeles. Why wouldn’t Hollywood want to make a movie out of that? Now I hope it never sees the light of day.

Do you ever experience writer’s block?

Oh yeah. All the time. But as the old football analogy goes: Take what the defense gives you. I’m at my most creative at 5:30 am. By noon my creativity is gone. I don’t even fight it anymore. I put off most things until morning, after my brain resets. If I don’t have that luxury, I go for a walk, or pick five random headlines and try to combine them into a coherent paragraph. That sometimes jogs the writing muscles.

Do you work with an outline, or just write?

I can’t work from an outline. I’ve tried, but outlines produce writer’s block for me. I get an idea (or a cool scene I just have to write), then I build a story around it and let the characters run wild. Structure comes later, in edits.

The light side or the dark side?

In the words of Dark Helmet from Spaceballs: So, Lone Star, now you see that evil will always triumph because good is dumb.” The dark side is much, much more fun to write.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

There are so many. When I was younger it was Stephen King. Cujo was the first to do it for me. The way he ended it (and I won’t ruin it if you’ve only seen the horrible movie version) was so different than anything I’d ever read. And I remember King explaining himself in an interview. He said something like “That’s just the way the story had to end.” He’d allowed the story and characters to dictate the ending, and he’d taken himself out of the equation entirely. I admired that. As an adult, Ray Bradbury, Connie Willis and Philip K. Dick have all influenced me the most.

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?

With Rogue’s Curse I went the traditional route of trying to get an agent. I sent query letters to just about every literary agent out there. Finally, after receiving mountains of form letter rejections, I decided to try my luck with small publishers. I sent the manuscript to a few, and received feedback along with the rejections. I made corrections based on that feedback. Then I submitted to Lyrical Press and received a contract from them.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

My first novel, Rogue’s Curse, is a fast-paced comedy roller coaster ride with plot twists a’plenty. The story takes place in our world 2000 years after the Rapture. For my second novel, Nether I wanted to push the envelope even more. I incorporated different themes: shapeshifters, talking dogs, zombies, teenage demons…even a jaunt through the afterlife. Nether releases on 5/16. I hope your readers will buy it and let me know what they think.

What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met?

The MC of Rogue’s Curse is too oblivious to know I’ve tortured the hell out of him. But the MC of Nether would hate me for all the pain I’ve caused. Before the book begins, he has a pretty good life. It isn’t until I take the reigns of the story that his life turns to liquid crap.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

In Rogue’s Curse, the second chapter spurred the entire book. I’m a huge fan of reality TV, and my favorite show is To Catch a Predator. I cried when they cancelled it. Honest. In chapter two, the main character unknowingly enters a sex sting in Waterside Village. Doban is a rogue who allows his genitalia to do all the thinking for him. This leads him into a cottage where he sips lemonade while being interrogated by “Chris Hampton.”

Here’s a sample:

From inside the cottage came a high-pitched voice. “You should come inside, handsome. It’s really…fun in here.”

Doban scratched his stubbly cheek and closed one eye. Something wasn’t right. Still, he lived by a singular philosophy: if it seems too good to be true, go for it. He straightened his tunic and walked up to the porch. His mind drifted to the girl in the parchment, naked, holding a bottle of liquor and perhaps a warm pot roast. Doban wanted sex, and nothing would keep him from getting it–not even his better judgment. He rapped on the open door.

Someone called out in a froggy female voice, “Come in. I just need to hang my knickers. I made refreshments. Help yourself.”

What project are you working on now?

The sequel to Rogue’s Curse. I have a solid draft that’s just about ready for a beta-read. I’m excited about it because it takes the series in a cool direction. I can’t wait to start discussing it.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

If you’re lucky enough to get a harsh editor, listen to him/her.

If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go?

The world of Connie Willis’s Doomsday Book. The idea of traveling back through time as an observer is pretty cool (except for that nasty Black Plague thingy).

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Please check out the blurbs and excerpts for my books. I’d love it if you read them, then sent me an email to let me know what you thought.

My book Nether releases on 5/16 from Lyrical Press. Here is the blurb:

One suburban night. One stubborn corpse. One golden opportunity.

Burklin had it all: a spacious two-story house, a shapeshifting wife, a wide open future. That is, until his father ripped out his soul and trapped it inside an opinionated dachshund. Now he’s lost everything, leaving him a slave on mop-up duty for a homicidal teenage demon. His father is sleeping with his ex, the possessed dachshund won’t stop talking, and the cleanup jobs keep getting messier. Burklin would give anything to have his life back–even if it means turning against his manipulative father and destroying their chance of winning the Nether’s Demon Lord Sweepstakes.

Opportunity knocks with a dead woman’s hand. When the demon’s latest victim won’t stay dead, the rules of life and death change. Freedom lies within Burklin’s reach, but to get it he’ll have to defy his father, the ex-wife he still loves, and the Nether itself.

Just how far is he willing to go?

Warning: This title contains sex, violence, human cuisine, a smart-ass dachshund, teenage demons, and fun with corpses. 

Bio: A permanent fixture at his local coffeehouse, Jason Beymer hunches over his laptop in a caffeine-induced frenzy, jowls slick with muse. He injects comedy into the urban and traditional fantasy genres like a squeeze of lemon into ice water: tart, yet refreshing. When not pounding on his keyboard, Jason worships at the feet of Ray Bradbury, and engages in an unhealthy obsession with Grace Park and Tricia Helfer.

Nether and Rogue’s Curse are both ebooks, and available through Lyrical Press.

Links:

Nether: http://www.beerandtv.com/nether

Rogue’s Curse: http://www.beerandtv.com/rogues-curse

Website: http://www.beerandtv.com

Twitter: @beerandtv

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jasonbeymer

Email: jason@beerandtv.com

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

3 thoughts on “Interview with Author Jason Beymer

  1. Jason Beymer says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog, Jen!

  2. MATT S says:

    Hey Jason,

    I can relate to that concern over your first ‘real’ book ever seeing the light of day. I recently found my first ‘real’ book, which was stored safely away in my father’s garage for a decade or so, and cringed when I read the first part of it. Hilarious how I described the side of a brick building for over a page…for some reason I thought that was ‘good’ writing?

Leave a Reply

