Interview with Author Patti Roberts-and Contest!

I have the super fantastic Patti Roberts on my blog today! Learn all about her and her book and don’t forget to check out the contest below to win a free copy of her book!

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
Name Patti Roberts
Living in Cairns Queensland Australia.
I wrote Paradox – The Angels Are Here to mend a broken heart.  It worked!
On any given day you can usually find me sitting at my desk in front of my laptop pounding away at the keys writing another chapter in the Paradox series. That would be a run of the mill kinda day for me!
A packet of Cruskits and a water bottle, that is now at room temperature, is sitting on the desk beside me. There is also a mass of USB cables, notepads, bills to be paid, bills to be filed a bunch of pens and a printer that is forever running out of ink. Sound familiar.
On most days I have to remind myself to eat and drink. I Should be thinner!!!
I am sure my housemates are very thankful that I still manage (usually at some ungodly hour) to bathe, brush my hair and clean my teeth.
I don’t know about you. But I am usually mortified when visitors just pop around, only to find me sitting at my desk and still in my PJ’s. I don’t even want to broach the hair situation! Did I remember to put last nights dishes away???
PS: If you are thinking about popping a round for a coffee, that might be nice. But please give me a quick call first so I can brush my hair and smear a bit of colour across my lips.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I started writing in 2009 and finished my first book in the Paradox series (A novella) The Angels
Are here in 2010.  I am currently working on the 2nd book in the series – Progeny Of innocence – which will be completed in November of this year.  And book 3 in the series will be completed in 2012.  Bound By Blood.

How did you choose the genre you write in?  I think it chose me.

Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write? 

Basically I have the idea of the story in my head but it kind of just writes itself.  Certain characters demand that it goes a certain way so I just go along for the ride.  I have never had writers block.  The story is an ongoing dialog in my head.  Very busy up there – night and day!
How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre? 

So far I have marketed the book via twitter, facebook and goodreads.  Many hours!!!

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published? Paradox is my heart book.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book? 

It is the next book in the Paradox series.  And the best way that I could sum that up is “Grace is not a little girl anymore!”

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?  Both.  But far more fantasy than real life.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?  Oh I would say chapter 8 – Kali & Bonga and Chapter 17 – Hells Bells Toll For Thee.  I loved writing these chapters because they allowed me, on behalf of the characters, to step back into real life events in history.  Even when I read fiction I like to know that there are certain aspects of the story that I can learn something factual.

How did you come up with the title?  I love the word Paradox and the meaning.  It makes you think.

What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon?  The second book in the series.  Paradox – Progeny Of Innocence due out this November.

 Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?  There are certain characters, due to reader demands, that I devote more time to.  Which is great because I love the Abaddon character too.  I just didn’t expect that he would be SO popular with readers.

 What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?  I see criticism as an opportunity to do better.  As long as it is constructive I do not have a problem reading/hearing it.  Not yet anyway.  Most of my reviews have been fantastic.  I still have to pinch myself.  I just can’t believe that so many people have so many great things to say about the book that I wrote!

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?  I think if writers block sets in, then you are may very well be on the wrong path at the wrong time.  Start a fresh.

 Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?  Thank you so much for buying reading and loving my book.  You all totally blow me away.  I will be forever grateful.  You have all made the long hours so worth while.

FUN QUESTIONS!
1)     Chocolate or Vanilla?  Vanilla!
2)     The light side or the dark side?  The grey in the middle…
3)     If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Read minds  Would you wear a cape?  Only on dark rainy nights J
4)     Do you have a deep dark secret?  How about a shallow grey one?  Not really.  I’m pretty much an open book.
5)     What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met?  We would definitely hug.
6)     What sort of coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?  cappuccino
7)     Is there any food you refuse to eat? Olives, brains, livers, things like that – yuck!
8)     Drink of choice? Vodka, baileys, red wine.  Depends on the temperature.
9)     If you could live off of chocolate would you? What kind? Cadbury chocolate with nuts.
10) What pets have graced your life? I had a rabbit when I was a kid called Bugsy.  I loved that rabbit and when he died it broke my heart and I cried for days.  Currently I have a cat that is definitely a tad psycho.
11) If you could visit any world ever written about, where would you go?  I would jump on board that ship from close encounters of the third kind.

Author bio:  Born in Brisbane Australia.  Grew up in Darwin in the Northern Territory Australia and now live in Cairns Queensland Australia.  I have a son, Luke (named after Luke Skywalker)  He was born in the 80’s.

Book trailer Youtube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IovcxyZTFuU

facebook – http://tinyurl.com/3woe84l

twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/PattiRoberts7

blog – http://theangelsarehere.wordpress.com/

Buy the ebook – all formats from Smashwords

Buy the ebook – Amazon

Paperback from – Createspace

CONTEST TIME!!

The wonderful Patti will give away a free eBook to the first 5 people that complete the sentence ” Is Your guardian Angel from Heaven or ….? ”

Open to everyone! Please comment below with your answer. Don’t forget to include your email or twitter ID so you can be contacted!

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

6 thoughts on “Interview with Author Patti Roberts-and Contest!

  1. My Guardian Angel’s (I have several and they are always busy) are definitely from Heaven.

  2. Karysa Faire says:

    My guardian angel is found in and around me; from the energies I can’t see, to the energies I sometimes feel; from the messages I receive in dreams to the messages I receive while awake.

    Karysafaire@gmail.com

  3. Robert Presnell says:

    My Guardian Angel has been with me all my life but I never knew it until I accepted Christ as my Savior. Many time as a gospel musician and minister I have been in really bad situations and I could feel the presence of my guardian Angel. I was working on my van in 1997 and I had pulled my van upon a little bank. I was working on the transmission. I usually always scotch the rear tires but this time I didn’t. I knock the van out of gear and the left tire rolled over my right shoulder and landed on my chest. This was a 1977 full van and I could feel the weight of the van pushing on my chest. I was stuck and about to die, when all of a sudden something pulled me out from under the van and I was on my feet. I know it was my Guardian Angel and I thank God and Him everyday. Just one of the times my Guardian Angel has saved my live.

  4. Bob Presnell says:

    The Angels of God are all around us. We just need to be aware and connect through prayer and all the good things that happen day by day.

    • Bob Presnell says:

      I was working on my van in 1997 and had pulled it upon a little bank so I could get under it. While I was working on it I knocked it our of gear and the van rolled over my right shoulder and onto my chest. I felt the weight of the van and I couldn’t get a breath. All of a sudden it felt like someone pulled me from under the front tire and I was standing strait up! I was in shock and didn’t know if I was alright. I was sore but nothing broke. Good thing! My wife said before she left ” Be careful and don’t get hurt. Thanks be to God & my Guardian Angel I’m alive today.

  5. Is your guardian Angel from Heaven or what? 😉

Leave a Reply

