Interview with Author Jennifer Rainey

Today I am interviewing author Jennifer Rainey. Read along and find out all about her and her work!

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book? I can honestly say that I’ve been writing in one way or another since I could hold a pencil. Or crayon, as the case might’ve been! But I didn’t really start to consider writing as more than a hobby until I was in high school and I won a state-wide writing competition with a short story about a recently-fired animator. I completely finished my first published book in 2010 and published it later that year.

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published? It’s not published mostly because it was never finished, but there was this book I was working on that was a really twisted paranormal romantic comedy about a ghost who falls in love with a paranormal investigator. I don’t write a lot of straight-up romance, but I loved this story and these characters, and I’m a paranormal investigator myself (I promise I’m not crazy!). I might revisit the project some day.
 
Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination? These Hellish Happenings takes place in this very soul-killing, modernized Hell that uses offices and computers and such. I work as an office assistant when I’m not writing. Ahem, I think we can put two and two together, haha! But while I’m definitely inspired by real life experiences, most of the events in the book come out of my head. It’s a scary place in there.
 
What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why? I’m gonna try not to spoil anything, but Jack, my vampire protagonist, ends up romantically involved with another character in the book. Both Jack and his lover are immortal; they’ve lived forever, and they’ve become rather jaded to the whole emotional love scene. And so when they have this blossoming relationship, instead of your standard romantic set-up, they play these ruthless, analytical word games, and that’s how they sort of reckon out their feelings for each other. Those word games were definitely my favorite part to write; I adore the dynamic in their relationship.
 
What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon? I’m about 80% of the way through the first draft of the second book in the These Hellish Happenings series. It’s tentatively called When Hell Freezes Over. I’m also starting work on a collection of loosely-connected short stories that take place in the same universe as my other books, though it’s not directly related to the These Hellish Happenings plot. It’s called The Souls of Iago Wick, and it follows this arrogant demon as he goes around and collects the souls of the recently-deceased in order to take them to Hell. It should be out later this year.
 
The light side or the dark side? Ooh, the dark side. I’ve heard wonderful things; perhaps I should get a summer home there.
 
What does your main character think about you? Are you best buds or have you tortured them so much you’d run if you actually ever met? Jack would probably resent me at least somewhat because he’s been through quite a lot of torture! Purely based on what I put him through in the eighteenth century, he’d probably never completely trust me, haha! But I’d like to think we’d get along. We could at least talk music since we’re both music snobs.
 
Is there any food you refuse to eat?  Cottage cheese. I find it absolutely repulsive!
 
What pets have graced your life? Which was your least favorite? What do you think the coolest pet to have would be? I have four cats at the moment; Bellamy, Lucy, Macca and Georgina. I’m a cat person, definitely, but hopefully not a Crazy Old Cat Lady-in-Training. I used to have two birds, as well, but I’m not sure I’ll ever do that again. They were tons of trouble. The coolest pet? I’d love to have a Mainecoon cat; those things are huge!
 
Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers? Be patient. I know that’s hard, but it’s worth all the editing and rewriting and planning and waiting. At the end of the process, a product that has had that much time and care put into it is going to attract readers more than one that has not. It’s definitely worth it all in the long run.
 
Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?  Thank you so much for giving my bizarre little tale a try, and thank you for being so supportive! I have wonderful, very vocal fans, and I couldn’t ask for anything more. … Also, keep buying my books, haha!

BUY LINKS:
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/These-Hellish-Happenings-ebook/dp/B004K1F8KM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1295619680&sr=8-2
B&N Nook: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/These-Hellish-Happenings/Jennifer-Rainey/e/2940012372154?r=1&itm=1&usri=these+hellish+happenings&if=N&cm_mmc=VigLink-_-k244266-_-j12871747k244266-_-Primary

AUTHOR LINKS:
Website: http://www.jenniferrainey.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/THH_Series
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TheseHellishHappenings
Blog: http://independentparanormal.blogspot.com

BIO:
Jennifer Rainey was raised by wolves who later sold her to gypsies. She then joined the circus at the age of ten. There, she was the flower girl in the famed Bearded Bride of Beverly Hills show until the act was discontinued (it was discovered that the bearded lady was actually a man). From there, she wandered around the country selling novelty trucker hats with vaguely amusing sayings printed on front. Somehow, she made enough money to go to The Ohio State University for a major in English.
About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

Leave a Reply

