YA? So What.

Greetings denizens of earth. It is I, Sean Hayden. I have yet once again seized control of the blog of JEN WYLIE for my own personal gain and satisfaction.

Bwa Ha Ha

So, you’re probably wondering what particular subject I shall be conquering today, right? Well, my blog title is a little deceiving. It looks like I’m trying to say,”Yeah, so what?” Right? Huh? Had you fooled! HAHAHA. Nope, I’m here to discuss something that’s been a botherin me for a while now. YA. Young adult. A whole slew of genres jam packed into one tiny little itsy bitsy teeney tiny weeney CATEGORY. You see, I wrote this novel called My Soul to Keep. Once I done did that I started querying agents. Have you ever done a search on sites that list agents? They’re broken down into categories too. Most of them are genre type categories. Such as Urban Fantasy, Horror, and Non-Fiction. Then there’s this whole star shpangled YA category.

Queried a few. “Oh, we only handle YA fantasy, not YA urban fantasy!”

Um, ok.

Kind of makes you wonder why we even have this whole YA thingy right? I thought so. Honestly, stop and think for just a moment. How many adults do you know that absolutely positively love to read “YA” books? Uh huh. Exactly. I bet you know twice as many adults as young adults who read things specifically labeled for young adults. What really bothers me is when you ask somebody what age group YA is designed for you will get answers ranging anywhere from 11 to 18. Uh huh.

Guess what

I haz a solution

Shocker, I know ๐Ÿ˜‰

I think we should let the genres speak for the books. If you have more than one, label them as such. BUT, we need to stop characterizing every book written with the intent for a younger audience as YA. Its BS. YA is BS. There. I said it.

So what I propose is do exactly what the MPA does. Lets start slapping labels on EVERY book that gives content warnings. Makes a little sense doesn’t it? I thought so.

Because I’m a kind and benevolent future world dictator, I’ve even decided to post my proposed novel rating scale so you can further “get what I’m saying”. I couldn’t leave you hanging.

Rated P for Pure-This rating shall be rarely given to novels and shall be reserved forย Pennsylvania Dutch Cookbooks and Fluffy Bunny Picture Books that do not have any underlying drug or sex references.

Rated G for Golly-Golly as in I can’t friggin believe the main character’s mother just got shot.

Rated H for HMMMM-Hmmmm, did the main character just say, “Damn it?”

Rated U for UMMMM-If I were that main character’s mother…I would wash that boys mouth out with soap!

Rated O for OMG-She flashed her what? Oh no she diint.

Rated W for WOW-Aren’t they a little young to be doing that?

Rated B for Bad-Maybe you should wait a few years before you read this one, kid.

Rated S for Screw That-Oh hell no. I blushed when I read that one.

Well I hope you like my plan. When I conquer the world and enslave the human race you won’t have a choice, but I thought I’d give you a heads up. Just sayin ๐Ÿ˜‰

About shaydenfl

Born the son of a fire chief, Sean naturally developed a love of playing with fire. His family and friends quickly found other outlets for his destructive creativity. Writing is his latest endeavor. Always a fan of the macabre, mythical, and magical, Sean found a love of urban fantasy and horror. After writing several novels in this genre, he found, fell in love with, and immersed himself in steampunk. He has always wanted to rewrite history and steampunk gave him that opportunity. Sean currently lives in Florida as a fiber-optic engineer as well as an author. He was blessed with the two most amazing children he could ever hope for, has met the absolute love of his life, who coincidentally is his partner in everything. His hobbies include grand designs on world domination as well as a starring role in his own television sitcom.

16 thoughts on “YA? So What.

  1. Elysabeth says:

    Too funny – I agree with you, Sean, that there are too many subcategories in any of the genres – Mystery and YA stand out and that the distinctions sometimes will blur a fne line. As far as your ratings go – I think the ratings like the games are more appropriate – E, T, M – but I doubt it will ever come down to that. I’m trying to categorize my YA now and still don’t know where it fits – YA mystery or YA paranormal mystery or YA paranormal – no telling – I think I’m going to put it as a YA paranormal mystery – and just leave it as it that.

    Since you are published with Echelon, Karen won’t publish your YA urban fantasy? – not that I really know the difference between fantasy and urban fantasy – but just a thought.

    Good luck – see you in the postings – E ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ma America, The Travelin’ Maven (Elysabeth Eldering)
    Author of the JGDS, 50-state, mystery, trivia series

    Where will the adventure take you next?

    http://jgdsseries.blogspot.com
    http://jgdsseries.weebly.com
    http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com
    http://eeldering.weebly.com

    • shaydenfl says:

      You know how us authors are. Living the dream. Finding an agent. Getting published in hardcover and mass market paperback then being whisked across the nation on a fifteen city booktour while sitting at a table with a gazillion books for you to sign while your fans stand in a line that goes out the door and wraps around the B&N seven times. SIgh. Yeah. Um just living the dream?

  2. Darcia Helle says:

    I love this! Great post, Sean. Your rating system works for me. Except, I have to tell you that your acronym needs some work. PGHUOWBS? Couldn’t you have been a little more creative there? ๐Ÿ™‚

    You’re right about the YA category being far too broad. I even find that in the mystery/suspense genre that I normally write in. There are the cozy mysteries (which I do not write) that could easily fit into your G rating. Then there are those that I write, that sit at the B rating most of the time. I’ve had readers chastise me in reviews due to ‘bad language’. Umm… I don’t write Disney books here…

    I’m heading out to purchase B-Rating stickers for all my books.

  3. Elysabeth says:

    Darcia, I don’t think your books fall into the Bad rating – lol. Well, at least the one I’ve read. I think the system needs to be overhauled but not sure I totally agree with Sean’s rating system. And yes his acronym needs a little work – lol. This is too funny – but that is the type of writer Sean seems to be – humorous – regardless of what category he falls in – lol. E ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ma America, The Travelin’ Maven (Elysabeth Eldering)
    Author of the 50-state, mystery, trivia series

    Where will the adventure take you next?

    http://jgdsseries.blogspot.com
    http://jgdsseries.weebly.com
    http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com
    http://eeldering.weebly.com

  4. Verna Clay says:

    Your plan is “pure, golly, hmmmm, ummmm, OMG, wow, bad, screw that,” friggin GREAT!

  5. jlwylie says:

    I’m still giggling away here… I rather enjoy when Sean hijacks my blog–always something interesting going on ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Pure genius! I will say though, that even with the ratings you’ll run into problems like the movie industry…what some moms and dads might consider to be PG-13, others will consider to be either PG or R. There’s no winning, I tell you! None! It’s like walking on broken glass trying not to cut yourself, but also trying to not make any noise – Sheesh!

  7. shaydenfl says:

    Yes but at least it looks like we’re trying! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. despina says:

    LOOOL! Too funny dudes ๐Ÿ˜€ Great postx

  9. Love being a YA writer but, you’re right, it is *very* political and clique-y; kind of like the setting of so many of my YA novels themselves: high school. Love this idea! Great blog as well…

  10. desiree says:

    i love her book i read one she sent me and then it was a surprise id did not expect

Leave a Reply

