Super Happy News!

Hi Everyone!

Guess what? I have news! (Hey, I heard that gasp!)

I’m very, very, very excited and happy to announce my young adult fantasy novel, Broken Aro, has been contracted with Hadley Rille Books. (Insert squeee here) Publication date is set for October 2012. I’m super excited to work with everyone at Hadley Rille on my new baby πŸ™‚

Thanks to everyone for their continued support! I’ll keep you up to date on progress! πŸ˜€

~happy dance~

OH and I forgot.. I even got a super awesome coffee mug! How cool is that? πŸ˜€

And just for fun… Here is my query letter… not exactly how you’re supposed to do it… but anyways… πŸ˜€ (and yes I did have my contact info at the top.. but you don’t need to know that πŸ˜‰ )

Open your eyes to darkness. What do you see? Does the darkness frighten you? It should. Now imagine the darkness being the cargo hold of a slave ship cutting through the waves on its way to deliver you to new owners. Your city has fallen. Your family is most likely dead. You don’t know anyone around you, and some of them aren’t even human. Every great story should begin with a plan. Arowyn Mason’s plan was to escape, and to survive.

Broken Aro is my latest work and is the first of a planned young adult fantasy series. It is complete at 62k words. The second novel is nearing completion.

Escape comes but at a price. Aro and the other captives reach the shore, but not safety. Hot on their trail, the slavers want their property back and will do anything to get it. The only thing that keeps the party alive is ancient magic, brute strength, and a hearty helping of cunning. Sickness, danger, and even love surprise them at every turn. However, they will quickly learn that nothing can be quite as dangerous as a prophecy.

My name is Jen Wylie and I’m a Canadian, eh. I’ve been a writer most of my life, but only recently started seeking publication. The works I have published include short stories Jump and The Forgotten Echo published in eBook form through Echelon Press. The sequel to Jump and another Echo story have also been contracted to be published this summer. I am contracted for a fantasy story series, Tales of Ever, with 6 installments geared to reluctant readers. Three of these have been published to date, with the rest to be published monthly by the end of August. My adult fantasy novel Sweet Light was released by Echelon in June, in print and eBook form.

Since I have experience with small independent publishers, I am no stranger to self promotion and marketing. I have large online platform and can be found on most websites that mention, feature or showcase authors and their works. My blog has had nearly fifteen-thousand hits as I not only give advice on the publishing industry, but interview authors and review books as well. I have also explored and have an active presence on most social media platforms. I love being an author and I do whatever I can to get my name and my work available to the consumer for consideration.

I’d just like to take a moment to thank you for your consideration. I’m truly looking forward to expanding my horizons. My full manuscript is available upon request. I hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely, Jen Wylie

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

17 thoughts on “Super Happy News!

  1. Jolie says:

    Hooray! This is awesome!

  2. Trisha Wolfe says:

    OMG!!!!!! I’m so freakin’ excited for you! That’s fantastic! You know how much I love your writing, and this story is going to blow people away =) Doing so many happy dances for you right now!

  3. Congratulations!!! Wonderful bouncy happy news πŸ˜€

  4. karysafaire says:

    Congratulations! Thank you so much for sharing. News like this gives me hope. . . . πŸ™‚

  5. Claudia says:

    I wish I could give you a bear hug and we could squee and jump up and down together!!!! Way to go, Sweetie! Life is good, eh?

  6. Kyowolf says:

    Congratulations! Thank you for sharing this exciting news(;

  7. WOW, that is really good news! HR is a good publisher, too. I did a story for an anthology of theirs once. You rock!

  8. CONGRATS, Jen! What GREAT news!!!!! I love the mug and I LOVE the query letter. Can’t WAIT to read that book…

    • jlwylie says:

      Thanks Rusty! Yes I LOVE my mug πŸ˜€ It has a special place on my desk πŸ˜€ It was an awesome surprise in the mail! Thanks so much for your support! Hugs!

  9. Hey! I’d know that query letter anywhere! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations once again, sweetling. I’m thrilled to be working with you.

Leave a Reply

