Interview with Author Angela Addams

  Today I have the great pleasure in interviewing author Angela Addams! Be sure to check out her amazing stories!

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I’ve been writing practically my whole life…seriously, I have a “portfolio” of work that begins with pieces I wrote when I was six years old! But “serious” writing? Like writing for publication? That didn’t start until I was on maternity leave with my daughter four years ago. After the fog of newborn hell lifted, I realized that I actually did have time to get some work done while I was home so I started plotting out my first attempt at an urban fantasy. It was that novel that ended up landing me my first agent.

How did you choose the genre you write in?
It’s funny because one would think that writing about paranormal themes would be a no-brainer for me; I am the queen of all things Halloween after all…but it wasn’t my first choice. My very first attempt at writing a novel was an ill-fated, trunk-destined historical about ancient Greece…it will forever remained on my hard-drive. It wasn’t until a co-worker said to me, “Hey, you like Halloween right? Why don’t you write a novel about witches and stuff?” What an ah-ha moment that was…total light bulb exploding…well, duh…yeah, why don’t I, epiphany. So that’s what I did. I wrote a novel about witches and haven’t strayed since.

Where do you get your ideas?
I know this is probably going to sound cliché and corny, but I get almost all of my ideas from dreams. At least, I get the opening scene from a dream and then I figure out what my plot is and outline where I’m going. If I get stuck on something I let myself sleep on it…seriously…it works every time. After a night or two, my brain always figures out where I need to go with that particular project. It’s amazing. I’ve also gotten ideas from reading newspapers and listening to the radio…even sometimes during conversations with people. Not all ideas are manuscript material, but I make sure I jot them down so that they are available if a plot comes to me down the road. All of my ideas begin with the question: what if?

Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write?
I don’t believe in writer’s block. It doesn’t exist. When I don’t feel like writing it’s because I’m being lazy, nothing more. I don’t believe in having a “muse” either. I can’t afford to wait for some fictional being to inspire me to write. I’m not a detailed outliner, but I do have to have a plan or I get stuck too easily when I’m writing. Once I figure out where I want to go with a piece, I set a quota for the week and I get to work. I’m pretty efficient that way. It’s not the most “romantic” image of a writer, but it works well for me.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?
Influenced, inspired…if it wasn’t for Kelley Armstrong and her Women of the Otherworld series I wouldn’t have travelled the path that I have. Not only has she been a mentor to me in so many ways, but I have met so many great writers through her forums and my participation in her OWG (online writing group). When I think about the writing journey I’ve been on for the past four years she is there, at the very beginning and at various sign posts along the way. Truly inspirational woman!

What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon?
I’m working on a couple of things actually. Firstly, I’ve been working with my agent on an urban fantasy about witches and vampires. I’ve also been writing a few “short” erotic romance pieces for e-publication. I hope to have a couple of new pieces coming out soon.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?
I have two pieces of advice that I think are equally important:

Be prepared to pay your dues: And understand that everyone’s dues are different. It is true that there are some examples of very lucky writers who will write a book in six months, land an agent in a month, edit for two weeks and get a mega publishing deal. As much as that makes the rest of us want to puke with envy, those are seriously rare stories. There usually isn’t an easy way when it comes to publishing, but you can’t give up simply because things get tough. Which leads to my next piece of advice:

Don’t give up: Your chance might be right around the corner…it might be a result of that next query you send or that conference you attend. If you want it badly enough, you simply can not stop. Ever.

The light side or the dark side?

I prefer the dark side…the light hurts my eyes and burns my skin. I think we all have a little bit of darkness in us…I might have more than the average person, but that’s just because I was a goth as a teenager…loved all things black and orange and deadly. I find that the dark side suits me because there’s no sugar coating there…it’s all truth, however horrible, all the time. And I don’t scare easily…so the monsters don’t bother me.

What do you think the coolest pet to have would be?

I would love to own a big cat…you know, like the ones that can eat you in a couple of bites? I’d love a cougar or a jaguar…something big and furious…tame around me of course. There was once a man who owned a jaguar (the cat, not the car) in a town close to where I grew up. He used to drive around in a convertible with the animal lounging in the backseat…it was incredible to see. I heard later that the cat attacked him…left him pretty badly mauled…which is why I’d love to own one but will settle for my domesticated kitties.

If you could visit any world (real or imagined) where would you go?
I would love to go to Scotland. I’d love to tour the castles and learn more about the folklore while there. I love the accents, the customs, the history, everything. It’s a trip that I’d planned to take once I finished university…but that seemed to go on and on until finally it was time to graduate and get a job so I missed out on the dream trip. I’m hoping, once the kids are a little older, I’ll be able to go.

What kind of person drives you nuts? (personality trait)

I hate people who are fake. It is so transparent. I can spot a faker from a mile a way and I try to avoid interacting with them. They just make me so suspicious…what are they covering up? Why can’t they be honest? I mean, I try to be honest all the time (not brutally…I won’t hurt someone’s feelings on purpose or be mean) and it bothers me when others are not.

Author Bio

Angela Addams lives in Ontario, Canada, in very old, and very creepy, century home with her husband, two kids and four cats. She has three erotic romance novellas Ghost Bride, Assassin, and The Temptress published at Cobblestone Press. She is represented by Sarah Heller at the Helen Heller Agency.

 

 

You can find Angela at:

www.angelaaddams.com

Twitter: @angelaaddams

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002825504020

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4801196.Angela_Addams

 Find her books at:

Amazon , Fictionwise , Cobblestone Press

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

11 thoughts on “Interview with Author Angela Addams

  1. Yay! Thanks for having me on your blog this week Jen! It was fun doing the interview!

  2. Anne Michaud says:

    And you are an inspiration, Gothsis:) Great interview, ladies!!

  3. […] Go here to see the original: Interview with Author Angela Addams […]

  4. T. James says:

    Great interview, I can tell because I now know Angie a little better. 🙂 I’ll try and bear in mind your advice about paying my dues and not quitting when I read your next critique!

    Really intriguing that most of your inspiration comes from dreams. To date I don’t think that any of mine has. Maybe, unwanted, your muse has moved into my head… 😉

  5. Lisa Forget says:

    Loved the interview Jennifer and the opportunity to get to know you a little more Angela!

    Thank you both!

  6. Gareth says:

    Nice interview Angela, and a pleasure to read. Thanks for putting it up Jen. I love watching the wildlife programmes. You’d be suprised at how many wild animal attributes you see when you watch you own.

  7. CDNWMN says:

    omg G you crack me up! Soooo true!!! lmao!
    Jen, loved your questions, very clean interview and interesting to read. 🙂
    Ang, i love that i get to learn more about you all the time. 🙂 Since I was about 6 I’ve ALWAYS wanted to own a panther. So black and slinky. Like my cat, but toothier. 😉

  8. diannewaye says:

    Great interview! Angie, you’re a true Rebel. Please don’t get a big tiger. They may look pretty on a leash – but they will eat you.

  9. Thanks for stopping in friends!

    And don’t worry Dianne…I’ve got enough kitties (4) I don’t need a giant one! lol

  10. Marianne Su says:

    Great interview. I’m going to start paying better attention to my dreams!

  11. It can be any number of crucial elements..When I first tried to write a romance novel I couldnt wait to get to writing the love scene. The love scene showed nothing of the characters except for what they looked like naked it seemed to have been dropped into the plot and the writing was horrid.

Leave a Reply

