Candy, ghost stories, black cats and…writing with guest author Regan Black!

Thanks so much for having me here today! It’s October, the perfect month for candy, ghost stories, black cats and…writing?

First, the cat. We had a black cat who loved to mess with people. She’d sit at the glass door and watch while we handed out candy to trick or treaters. Everyone thought she was the coolest decoration, and then she’d move and make them scream. Her timing was impeccable. Yeah, that’s the kind of creepy I like this time of year.

As for the writing, the dark side of my muse gets fed with all the great energy around changing weather, bright colors and the spookier side of Halloween. It’s kind of weird since I never learned to appreciate horror movies and only enjoy haunted houses now that I’ve worked in one.

But there’s just something about October that sparks the creepy side of the paranormal books I write for both adult and young adult readers. Something about October makes me more willing to get swept along into the eerie moment, to feel the chill of a ghost nearby, or otherwise gently freak out my readers or myself. Typically, this is the month when I write a bunch of short stories to work with the rest of the year.

When I started the Hobbitville series of short stories for my first publisher, it was a way of writing a bit lighter and for a younger audience in between the releases of my darker Shadows of Justice novels. There are five short stories in the Hobbitville saga so far, and while I love them all, The Shadow Stone is one of my favorites because it takes place during Halloween.

In the garden known as Hobbitville, the statues are actually portals to other gardens all over the world. Of course not everyone can use them. In this excerpt Lana meets someone who promises to help her learn the secrets of jumping through statues:

Her mind kept spinning with possibilities. No one but the band was supposed to be in here and no one from the band had a voice to match his…unless…her internal debate landed her right back at the conclusion that he’d jumped into Hobbitville from another garden at the request of her friends.

“Just tell me where you’re from.”

“It’s no secret you want to jump.”

She imagined the fading bruises and scrapes made it obvious to anyone who knew about Hobbitville that she’d been throwing herself at a variety of statuary. Embarrassment had her grateful for the poor lighting.

She laughed, growing more certain this was all a prank engineered by the Pixies. She’d get even by Christmas. Earlier, if she could master the jumping thing.

“So you’re here to share the secret?” She shoved her hands into her hoodie pocket and rocked back on her heels. “It’s not like there’s a magic word.”

“Of course there is. The garden is full of secret measures and magic phrasing. I’ll whisper what you’ve been missing in your ear tomorrow. Meet me back here.” He paused and in the silence she heard a shoe crunch on the gravel path behind him. “You should go now.”

She wasn’t ready to leave, her mind still sorting out the musical references in what he’d said. Measures and phrasing? He had to be a band geek like her. “I’ll follow you out.”

“Not tonight.” A soft breeze brushed cool across her face. She shivered despite herself. Trembling really undermined the tough girl image. She waited, almost a full minute, but he didn’t say anything more.

“Hello?” She pulled out her flashlight, the one she carried in case of emergency, not because she was scared, and flashed it over the arbor. Invasive, sure, but she had the right to know who she was dealing with.

The arbor was empty.

While I understand there are plenty of fans of the gross out, blood and guts side of Halloween, I really prefer the mind game or ghost story type of creepy. What’s your favorite kind of spooky for Halloween?

Live the adventure!

Regan

 

Author bio:

Regan Black writes action packed paranormal and urban fantasy novels so readers of all ages can savor a fantastic escape from the daily grind. Raised in the Midwest and California, she now lives with her family, three retired greyhounds, two cats, and four finches in the South Carolina Lowcountry where the abundance of history and legend fuels her imagination.

Experience any of Regan Black’s adventurous novels and short stories at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Smashwords. You can keep up with Regan at ReganBlack.com, twitter @ReganBlack and on Facebook.

More Links!

Goodreads , Amazon  , Barnes & Noble  , Smashwords author page

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

5 thoughts on “Candy, ghost stories, black cats and…writing with guest author Regan Black!

  1. Elysabeth says:

    Hey Ladies, great stuff. I just got the five Hobbittville Saga stories for my kindle and went to kindlegraph to request the kindlegraph for them and see that you don’t have them posted on kindlegraph, Regan. Please put them there as well and I will request my kindlegraphs for the stories. I also wanted to know if they needed to be read in order? If so, not a problem since I just got all 5 of the stories. If not, then I may start with the Halloween one and work my way back to the end – lol.

    Regan, I do have a question- I’m pretty sure I got a copy of something you wrote eons ago for Echelon Press but I can’t seem to locate it right now but I’m sure it is around. Do you remember what the title may have been around 2005 to 2007? – It was definitely in that timeframe because I was first published with Echelon Press in 2007 (well actually that was the only year I was published with Karen – two stories that were pulled within a few months of being published because of a falling out). Anyway glad to see you are still around and I look forward to reading your short stories – E 🙂

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of Finally Home, a YA paranormal mystery (coming soon)
    http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com
    http://eeldering.weebly.com

  2. reganblack1 says:

    OH! my goodness. I’ve uploaded all of the Hobbitville stories now. Thanks for saying something Elysabeth. My first book with Echelon was Justice Incarnate. It’s available on Kindle (and on kindlegraph – lol) and in paperback too (with a new cover since I re-released it after my rights reverted back to me).

    Thanks so much for your support!

  3. reganblack1 says:

    And of course to finish answering your questions, Elysabeth: Justice Incarnate came out in January of 2005. Also, the Hobbitville saga in ‘proper’ reading order is: The Pixie Chicks, Hot Spots, Breaking New Ground, The Shadow Stone, and Snow Covered Resolutions.

    Thanks again!

    • Elysabeth says:

      Actually I found the ebook of your first book – Famous Last Words – (I know it was a freebie download with the purchase of something else but I don’t remember what I purchased at the time) – I don’t have it in kindle format – just PDF and it is on my computer -will request the kindlegraphs for those stories plus this one now – E 🙂

      Elysabeth Eldering
      Author of Finally Home, a YA paranormal mystery (coming soon)
      http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com
      http://eeldering.weebly.com

  4. Nikki says:

    I preferred hellraiser and nightmare on elm street creepy to slashers like Jason. That’s my kind of spooky!

Leave a Reply

