Writing to Write by guest author Noah Murphy

Big welcomes to author Noah Murphy who is guesting on my blog today! This is a great post on writing and publishing…check it out !

There is a fallout coming in the self-publishing industry, a fallout that will separate the true authors from those out there hoping to play the literary lotto. It’s inevitable,there are too many authors pushing too many books of varying quality and not all of them can survive. It will be quiet, authors will simply stop updating their twitter feeds, their blogs and facebook pages will go silent. Some might give notice, most will simply fade away and move on. While the fallen will be replaced, it be fewer, because reality has set in.

And I can see those who will fall, even now. How do I who they are? They are the authors who think their books are the greatest things ever. These are the authors who are voting their books five stars on Good Reads, Amazon or the like. An author who rates their book five stars is doing so because they are gaming the review system, making their books seem better than they truly are. They will quit when nobody buys their stuff because if the only rating is a five star from the author, how good are these books really?

I’ll be honest; I rated one of my books. I ratedA Clear and Feathered Danger,the first in my K23 Detectives High Fantasy/Cyberpunk thriller series,four stars. And why did I rate it that? A Clear and Feathered Danger is not meant to be high art, it’s not meant to be profound. It’s a crazy thriller about gangster parrots blowing stuff up. More specifically, it’s about gangster parrots stealing an orbital weapons satellite and threatening to level a city if they don’t get citizenship. I wrote a book I wanted to write and I think I did well. It’s not a perfect book and I’m not wrong for saying so.

My general marketing line for the K23 Detectives series is simple:  I state they are short, fun and original reads. I do not state they are the greatest thing ever.To pretend otherwise is setting me up for failure because reality never measures up to expectations.

When the fallout comes, the authors who survive are those who rate their books four stars. These are the authors who are realistic about their work and their abilities, who know they may not always write winners or sell a million copies. These are the writers who write because they love to write and are ever striving to improve and push their boundaries. The writers who will fall are those who only write with dreams of riches of fame, because that comes to the very few.

If I was in this for the money, I would’ve written a zombie novel or whatever else is hot at the moment. Taking an extreme creative risk was what was really important to me. It is why I’m not planning on going anywhere, even if K23 Detectives doesn’t light the world on fire. Three years down the road, I’ll still be writing. I’m not sure what I’ll be writing, but I’ll be writing something, because I’m a writer. I started writing when I was five, and I’ll be writing until the day I die. Writing will never pay the bills but it’s never done so for most. “Don’t quit your day job,” still applies here.

And so, when you are rating your own books, think realistically about what you’ve accomplished and where you plan to go.By rating your book four stars, you can still go upwards. If you rated it five stars, you can only go down.  When the fallout comes, will you still be going upwards, or heading down with the rest?

Biography:

Noah Murphy started writing fiction when he was five. Then when he was twelve, he had a vision, a vision of high fantasy and cyberpunk coming together in glorious harmony. That vision, after several rough starts, is K23 Detectives, a fantasy thriller series set in an original universe that combines high fantasy and cyberpunk as well as steampunk and a healthy does of realism.
He also sci-fi and fantasy in other universes he’s dreamed up, like Barbarian Girl, a unique YA superhero novella feature a hulking female protagonist.

In addition to writing fiction, Noah runs his own small pet sitting service, writes an Xbox Indies game review blog, and volunteers at a parrot rescue.

Websiite: www.K23detectives.com
A Clear and Feathered Danger on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Clear-Feathered-Danger-Detectives-ebook/dp/B0056GX564

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

3 thoughts on “Writing to Write by guest author Noah Murphy

  1. ella grey says:

    A good honest post. Thanks Noah.

  2. Marc Schuster says:

    Truth will out… and so, one hopes, will quality writing!

  3. las artes says:

    When the fallout comes, the authors who survive are those who rate their books four stars. These are the authors who are realistic about their work and their abilities, who know they may not always write winners or sell a million copies. These are the writers who write because they love to write and are ever striving to improve and push their boundaries. The writers who will fall are those who only write with dreams of riches of fame, because that comes to the very few.

Leave a Reply

