Interview with Misty Rayburn of The Top Shelf Blog

I’m very excited to have the wonderful Misty Rayburn on my site today for a little fun. You may know her from facebook or of course her popular book blog, The Top Shelf!
Misty Rayburn is a graduate from Capital University with a BA in English Literature.  She was a live event photographer, covering a lot of Columbus’ local scene but a back injury kept her out of the scene for two years.  While recovering, she created The Top Shelf.  Misty doesn’t have a TBR list, she has a mountain! Come visit The Top Shelf! http://www.the-top-shelf.com
The light side or the dark side?
A good reviewer always likes to walk that line although sometimes I find myself leaning towards the dark side.  It’s just way too much fun to be bad.
Is there any food you refuse to eat? ( Other than brussel sprouts because NO ONE likes them)
Liver. You couldn’t pay me enough to even go near it.
If you could live off chocolate would you?  What kind?
Oh my God yes! Cadbury Dairymilk bars are amazing.  Not the ones from here, but the ones from the UK.  The ones from here are one of our brands just in another wrapper.  No comparison!
If you could visit any world ( real or imagined ) where would you go?
I’d like to visit some of the worlds I’ve read!  Natasha Deen’s fairy world in True Grime sounds like a lot of fun.
Have you ever done anything really crazy?  Do you regret it?
I’ve never been the crazy type.  I think creating The Top Shelf was an interesting jump for me.  It could have gone absolutely nowhere.  I know there were people that I had to remove from my life because they were negative and wanted me to fail but I don’t regret any of it.
What kind of person drives you nuts? ( personality trait )
Reviewers that think they have the right to verbally tear down an author just because they don’t like their book.  Nine times out of ten they just spend it insulting the author and not saying why they didn’t like the book.  I think that’s hurtful and wrong.
Do you like making up strange new words?
I do it all the time!  I told my fiancee that something was acting gooftarded.  I can’t even remember what it was.
Have you ever gone out in public with your shirt on backwards, or your slippers on, and when realizing it, just said screw it?
No but when I had the first really bad episode with my back, I went to the ER in nothing but my nightshirt.  I was so ashamed, but you gotta do what you gotta do.
Are you a person who makes thier bed in the morning, or do you not see much point?
I have dogs.  There is no point to making the bed.  LOL
.
About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

One thought on “Interview with Misty Rayburn of The Top Shelf Blog

  1. Doug D. says:

    Great interview… And I think when she coined the word “Gooftarded”, she was probably referring to ME!
    😛

Leave a Reply

