Interview with Author David McIntee

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing author David McIntee! Enjoy and be sure to check out his work! He on Facebook too!

1) Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’ve mainly been a tie-in writer, having done Dr Who, Trek, Space 1999, Final Destination, and lots of other stuff. I also do nonfiction about movies and TV. Away from work I love Forteana, model-building, videogames and martial arts….

2) What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?

Essentially tie-in stuff and magazine pieces are what you might call the day job, to fund the original novels I’d love to sell someday.

3) Where do you get your ideas?

Everywhere and nowhere. I don’t go looking for things to spark plot bunnies, but I’m always open to anything that will strike a mental spark – in the news, in conversations, in nature, in other books/films/etc, in music…
Ideas come from an open mind – or come *to* an open mind. Nature abhors a vacuum, so start sucking and let it fill up. Well, you know what I mean.

4) Do you ever experience writer’s block? Do you work with an outline, or just write?

Ah, those are two questions.
Writer’s Block, really, doesn’t exist, IMO. There’s manic or severe depression, and if a writer finds him or herself totally terrified to even try writing because there’s no point… that’s more depression, and anyone with any job can get that, and be unable to do whatever it is they do. Only writers have the excuse to call it something else, as if that’ll change it’s nature.
What most writers get is writer’s distraction – too many books to read/movies to watch/games to play… and suddenly it’s too late to make the deadline, and then you get terrified and wonder whether it’s worth doing anything…

As for outlines- yep, love them. No, seriously, I know a lot of writers hate storylining and outlining, but I love it. If you have a bullet-pointed road map when you start, half the job’s done.

5) Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Oh, it’s probably all Terrance Dicks’s fault – I grew up on his Dr Who novelisations, which seemed to come out almost weekly! And, later, I found that Dean Koontz’s works proved that a male writer could do good female leads, which I like to do if I can – or if it’s possible in the franchise I’m working in at the time!

6) If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?

I wouldn’t have wasted a number of years getting an agent who didn’t represent me, and in fact damn near killed my career. Said career being fine before him, and recovering after him.

7) Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?

Not written, but outlined, pitched… contracted work always takes precedence, and for me that’s basically tie-ins or media nonfiction.

8) How did you come up with the title?

I’m notoriously terrible with titles- one of my Dr Who books (I forget which) was actually commissioned under the title “I’ll think of a title when it’s finished, honest!”

9) What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon?

Which one? I’ve got six under contract right now!. But the one due first is an entry in Crossroads Press’s OCLT series – it’s a sort of SF/horror action epic. Then there’s a nonfiction book about the TV show Blake’s 7…

I’ve also a fair bit of writing for Bluewater Comics, and the latest there is an adaptation of John Saul’s novel The God Project, and #1 comes out in February. That’s a four-issue series. I also wrote an adaptation of William Shatner’s Quest For Tomorrow, which is another four-issue mini.

10) Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?

I love to do action adventures set in period settings. Love that.

11) Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Stop reading this rambling and go and read some fucking books! Then switch the games console off and write something – it won’t write itself!

FUN QUESTIONS!

1) What sort of coffee would you order? Simple coffee, complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?

An Einspanner, a specialty of Otto’s Café in the Hietzing district of Vienna.

2) Is there any food you refuse to eat? (Other than brussel sprouts because NO ONE likes them)

Liver or kidneys – the smell alone makes me want to puke. Snails, prawns, that kind of thing, though my wife loves them. Spinach cos I’m dangerously allergic…

3) Have you every done anything really crazy? Do you regret it?

Does fighting the occasional duel with live steel count? Just to the touch, not to death or injury… and hell no, the more the merrier!

4) Do you prefer fuzzy or tub socks?

Neither, I prefer to be barefoot or wearing sandals. (And obviously socks with sandals are a no-go.) It’s healthier, nicer, more comfy.

5) Do you go out of your way to kill bugs? Are there any that make you screech and hide?

Depends on the bug – I hate craneflies and will kill them on sight. OTOH, I have a complex relationship with spiders, as I’ve conducting a long-term eugenics campaign with them. To wit: I like to have orb-webs around (acaria diamantes in particular), while I dislike tegenarias. In fact I run a size limit in the house for teggies – below a certain size they’re allowed to live, bigger than that size, they either get ejected or killed. I hate harvestmen, though – those fuckers have got a kill-on-sight order on them…

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

One thought on “Interview with Author David McIntee

  1. Sharon Jones says:

    Great interview! 🙂

Leave a Reply

