Meet author Reggie Ridgway

Well I’m finally getting my butt back in gear and having guest authors back on my blog! Who couldn’t be more perfect than up and coming author Reggie Ridgway? Enjoy a little glimpse into his life, and check out his work too!

Thank  you Jen for inviting me to post on your blog.  My life has took an unusual turn since deciding to write my first novel and then use social networking to promote.  I have met many interesting people and learned a great deal over the past year.

Before it was suggested to me by my publisher, Karen Syed at Echelon Press  that I might want to get connected online, I did not even have a twitter account.  I think I had a facebook account but used it to keep up with family and friends.  Lindekin?  Never heard of it.  The mind boggles at all of the ways to connect online.  I confess I was dubious at first but now consider myself a seasoned veteran.  I have over 6000 friends on Twitter and I don’t even know how many on Facebook.  Most of them are authors as I liked to read other  writer’s blogs and tweets.  I have filled my kindle with books written by people I never heard of before.  And found many a gem in the experience.

My writing has improved, my vocabulary has widened.  I now use multi-syllable words without blinking.  My grammar has also benefited.  Editing used to be a chore. I used to say I would rather be sticking needles in my eyes. Now editing and proofing and blogging is the highlight of my week.  I find myself plugging in and watching the lives unfold of people I never would have gotten a chance to meet.  Well not in person, but still.  I blog about things I am doing, about family anecdotes, and now I am taking an interest in interviewing some of my favorite authors and reviewing their novels.  It is time sucking and I do have to apologize to my family for being distracted and busy clicking away on my keyboard like I was obsessed.  I even joined a local writers group and online critique group.  Go figure.  Although there is still not enough hours in a day to do all that I desire I still go to sleep feeling refreshed and fulfilled in at least doing something I can enjoy.

My writing has taken a turn for the better as well.  I have written three short stories.  Many flash fiction pieces.  All great exercises for becoming a better writer.  Like working out at the gym but working on my mental muscle instead.   Because of the daily inspirations from other successful writers it has made me want emulate them and wanting to write more often.

I am almost finished with my second novel in less than a year.  My first novel took almost a decade to finish as in the past I was always finding other things to obsess over.  Like fishing or even just watching television 8 hours a day. What a waste.  Well maybe not the fishing.  I do less of those things now and I don’t even miss it.

Again thank you for letting me cyber vent on your blog.  It was cathartic and I must get back to my WIP.

About Reggie:

Reggie Ridgway is an author who lives in Lake Isabella, California. He draws from his experience as a military medic and an X-ray technologist. He is currently a full time writer and enjoys reading, writing, and blogging. He lives with his wife in a house on a mountain overlooking a scenic lake for his inspiration. He likes to write in the style of Robin Cook and Peter Clement.

Twitter name @reggieridgway

In the Midnight Hour published by Echelon Press on April 3rd, 2012
Genre: Thriller
Synopsis: Doctor Jonathan Anderson is having the worst day of his life.
Forced to resign from his prestigious position as chief of surgery, he goes home to find his wife in bed with another man. On the brink of suicide, his wife tries to wrestle the gun from him and is accidentally killed. Convicted for her murder, he finds himself in prison, but after managing to escape, he ends up in the same hospital he ran, this time as a patient.
Hell-bent, Anderson seeks revenge on those responsible for ruining his life. Things are not as they should be, and a series of murders ups the stakes, but despite the work of two committed hospital employees and the investigating detective, the identity of the murderer and the motive for the heinous crimes may come too late to save any of them.

Coming soon…
Moon Shadow
When a new and potentially planet-killing contagion is discovered, Moon Shadow, an isolated resort town located in Alaska’s primitive and rugged interior, becomes the focus of a military-style incursion.
Major Pepper, who is in charge of the operation, has the local residents rounded up into a razor-wire inclosed quarantine.  Because of the danger of a potential pandemic, they are to be transferred  to a more prison-like underground quarantine.
Two of the residents, Trevor, a young physician, and Jodie, an Earth Project environmentalist,  are not having any of this obvious violation of human rights.  They escape and are hunted down like fugitives with the full arsenal of the US Army at the Major’s disposal. The two have to use a zip line to escape a three-story-burning lodge.   When they seek refuge in an abandoned gold mine, the entrance is caved in by a missile strike.
The two fugitives do manage to find a way out of the mine and try to make their way back to civilization and safety by floating down river on a rubber raft.  While fighting for their lives against nature and the deranged Major Pepper, the two begin to fall in love with each other.  They discover they have more to live for then exposing the Major for his treachery and his murder of innocent civilians for the greater good.
About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

3 thoughts on “Meet author Reggie Ridgway

  1. donnagalanti says:

    Jen, so enjoyed this post by Reggie! Loved hearing his journey into become a novelist – all the richness of it and learning too! Working that mental muscle – indeed. I have heard so many stories of authors taking years to write their first book and then once you find your pace and confidence you can write them faster after that first one. Bravo, Reggie!

  2. Thanks Donna and Jennifer. This was fun to write. I have found what women have known all along, that writing down what is happening in your life in a journal or diary is good for the soul. Writing something, anything, will keep skills high and creating something out of nothing easier and more natural. Anyway. Thanks again and hope to have Jennifer and Sean on my blog soon. I have Donna Galanti on my blog now, if you want to read about an exciting new author.

    • jlwylie says:

      Wonderful to have you on my blog today Reggie! I can’t wait to read your book (its on my to-do list!)
      And of course I’d love to be on your blog 🙂 Drop me a note sometime. Off to read about Donna now!
      ~hugs and rainbows!~

Leave a Reply

