Interview with Author Natascha Scrivener

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing author Natascha Scrivener. Please enjoy and check out her work!

Visit Natascha at her website: www.nataschascrivener.webs.com
and on twitter: @Someofherparts

1)   Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a novelist, poet (and occasional blogger) with a penchant for baking and spending time in my vegetable patch.

 

2)   What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have a day job as well?

I’m also a full-time Mummy, but as for paid work, I don’t do anything but write. I made the decision to give up work and focus on writing when I fell pregnant with my first child last year.

3) How did you choose the genre you write in?

I’ve written in quite a few genres now; literary, sci-fi, fantasy and magic-realism. I tend to prefer literary fiction but it’s fun to experiment and try writing something new, I think it keeps things new and interesting, and the research that goes into each one is fun too!

4)   Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

As a child I adored Enid Blyton’s books, and The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, they were my Mother’s books when she was little, an American family who were based here gave them to her when she was a little girl. She used to read the whole series to me every winter. I can’t wait to do that with my little girl and boy when they’re older!

As for books I’ve read as an adult, definitely all of the books by Peter Hedges, as well as Chocolat and The Lollipop Shoes by Joanne Harris.

5)Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

I can! Here is the blurb: THE FUTURE.
On the night of the power collapse that left Old Town in darkness, Reason Goodwin’s father returned from a day’s work at GAME-corp. with their latest creation, the Dream Theatre– a games machine to eclipse all others – a games machine that would bring dreams to life.

But the power surge severs the link between the dream state and reality, and Reason’s father returns to reality changed. He mutters of a world captured by GAME-corp. called Albia, and of game players from Earth unknowingly crossing between the two worlds via The Wire, their avatars playing out their fantasies and destroying Albia.

Now people are dying as Albia fights back, and it is Reason’s mission to save her father, Albia, and the very future of Earth itself.

6)What project are you working on now? Will you have a new book coming out soon?

I have just finished and published a short story called The Yellow Umbrella which is available for download (CLICK HERE)

 Here is a little extract to hopefully make you want to pop over to Smashwords and download the whole thing! (It’s FREE!)

They arrived on the eve of the carnival, weaving their way amongst the crowds of flushed faces and hovering for the briefest of moments to cast a curious eye across the cacophony of sugar coated confectionary. The littlest one, a girl of about eight who clutched a rabbits paw against her chest, stopped once to glance at the small hand-penned notice I’d pinned to the trunk of the copper birch that stood proud in the centre of the small town despite its sun torched leaves.

‘For Sale’, it read.

‘One pair of shoes, heel trodden, curled up and wrinkled like owners face.
Condition of shoes put down to weight of expectation and over use.
Any price accepted, and can deliver. However near, however far away.’…

7)Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Never call yourself an ‘aspiring writer’!

FUN QUESTIONS!

1)    If you were a superhero (or villain!) what would your power be? Would you wear a cape?

I think I would get in a muddle with a cape, so no. But my super power would definitely be to be able to fly… for every birthday when I was little I wished to be able to fly.

2)    Chocolate, Strawberry or Vanilla?

Vanilla

3)    Have you ever given someone who asked for decaf, regular coffee just to see what would happen?

No…but that is the sort of thing I would do…

4) What kind of person drives you nuts? (personality trait)

“Depressed” people. Dear God they annoy me!

5) What do you think about scarves? Do you wear them or prefer a turtleneck?

I do like a nice scarf… I’m a bit of a hippy so there are often one too many scarves attached to me.

About jlwylie

Stay at home mom of 2 boys, avid reader and writer. Published by Untold Press

Leave a Reply

